COINCHECK HACKED! TWO FACTOR AUTHENTICATION FOR STEEM?

in #dtubedaily7 years ago (edited)


Some details of the recently missing NEM coins, the BIGGEST case of lost crypto in the history of the world.
And also - will Steem finally implement two factor authentication?

Music by maneki-neko


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Peculiar then that they want a phone # and an e-mail address to create the account, but then don't use that when people try to cash out. Another issue with computers is that hardware chips are shipped with management software like Minix that has the ability to phone home as well as being addressed. Since I can't see Minix, it can take data from my system, or write data to my system without me being aware of it. Funny how the media keep on about Russian hackers but dismiss Minix with an "oh well"

minix ? the only minix I know is this one related to the creation of linux back in the 90's ?

I have 3 machines, now which one do I sacrifice for science, .........
You know, even my hardware vendor won't touch this; what are we to do? Every time we secure something we find a new built in back door. Then we have experts yammering about the bad habits of users while all this time it made no difference. I once drew this comparison: when you bring a car in for repair; do you leave the car keys with the shop? Then why doesn't the computer shop ask for your password? Ans: because they don't need your password to get in.

That's what I explain to peeps with huge passwords that If I want to get in I won't waste my time bruteforcing but rather use a payload and shoot out a root shell and change the password myself :D

I think if more peeps were aware of project like coreboot and support the work they trying to achieve we could come across a open source chipset/cpu manufacturer complying with the BSD or MIT license, the crypto world could make that happen we are all about open source blockchains open source cryptos, decentralising internet is decentralising manufacturing by making open source CPU/chipset and have them following the course of what linux and all its flavours have done 'til now, the future hold may be the key to defeat our centralised rulers.

make intel and amd opens source and decentralised, it would divide those big giants into thousands of creations , everyone could join projects that would manufacture safely and properly.

I just boot from something like a Puppy Linux DVD and bypass the installed OS altogether. At that point I have access to the entire hard drive and I'm not really interested in fixing another windows Borg up ever again in my life time. I simply refuse.

Like Lunduke, I wonder why AMD didn't jump on this prime opportunity to hit Intel hard for the second time in a row after Ryzen. I would have, ..so there must be more to this story.

BSD is just as good as Linux, but hardware support still lags too far for me to switch. There is no way that a proprietary software company can compete with the 800k+ people working on Linux based OSS projects, so it's just a matter of time. 2018 will be interesting indeed!

Haven't heard about coincheck before but these are no good news. I guess I'll transfer my coins to a paper wallet although coinbase has two factor authentication.
I would be happy if steem would also use it. It's just a step more within security. I mean some of us already make some nice money with our work but aren't still interested in paying out yet.

wow that is kind of crazy... It is a lot of value in cash missing... Lets see how they will solve that. Well when it comes to 2FA authentication it would be cool... I have been using it all over the place (although it is so annoying eheheheh LOL) But yeah it would be good :P

That's pretty alarming. I am sure more security measures will be brought forth. We just need a devastating hack that will make it a priority - just like with other things.

You definitely make a valid point brother. I would love to see a 2 FA for STEEM man because as you said, hackers will definitely rise in the future...

Winny out...for now ;)

I'd like a two-factor authentication, too. That would be great.

Whoa man! Fascinating. It’s the Wild West.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55