You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 045 - Thinking about my music career

in #dtubedaily6 years ago

Teaching guitar has always kept me accountable. I've been doing it for something like 25 years, and in the past, I had moments where I was only barely ahead of a student, which seriously motivated me to study, woodshed, and improve in a hurry. It can make you feel like a boss of a guitarist, speaking with authority to your guitar disciples, which I think you need right now. (I say that because you're really talented - and you have some insecurities about your ability, which is crazy.) You'll always need to improve - I do - I have a ton of guitar work to do still. But, I'm better than 99.9% of players out there, I really think you are too. Get a student. Start with one. No one too young, an adult would be best. It'll remind you of all you have to offer & teach, and all the loads of knowledge knocking around in your brain - that'll make you feel good, so you can stop worrying about it!

Sort:  

Gosh, thank you for the really well thought out response. If you keep that up, I might actually start believing in my own playing!

No, really, I know I play well, but it's never well enough, and I guess that's a good thing as it keeps me moving forward. The hunger is there as much as ever. Your advice is well received. I did have a couple of adult pupils a few years ago and my work got in the way and then it just fell by the wayside. I should find the courage to take that up again. I'm still friends with the two pupils I had so I've got a potentially easy in if I'm looking for one, and I am!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.52
ETH 2532.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52