037 - The Day I Fell off a Cliff

in #dtubedaily6 years ago


This is Part 2 of my Looking Back series, where I consider my past from the perspective of my achievements. I look at the day I fell off a cliff whilst on army exercise in the Lake District at the age of 17.

Part 1 is here:

Sort:  

An incredible story Cams. I can not believe you fell 40ft before rolling your way down a hill. Full on man! Did anything happen to the Sargent that ordered you up the cliff?

For some reason when you first eluded to this story I imagined you fell into water. Now that I know the details, woah! 😮

I have no idea what happened to him Tyler. There was litigation and I had solicitors involved against the MOD. They eventually admitted liability 12 years later and I got a settlement which basically paid off my student debt. But I do have a lot of pain now and am restricted in a lot of ways.

That much trauma to the body I couldn't imagine everything still functioning perfectly. Truly incredible that you were able to survive that much knocking around!

At least they recognized their fault even if it took far to long to do so. Probably was quite a relief to have those student debts absolved because of the money you received. Still can never fully take away the suffering that you experienced!

Wow. You really took a bad fall. I cant imagine what it would be like to lie there with a compound fracture for 4 hours, you must have been in serious shock by time the MR team got to you and probably in and our of consciousness?

It goes to show how strong you must be both physically and mentally to have survived such a fall and to make the recovery that you have, well done, its amazing.

I see it all too often, in fact I lost a friend of mine last September climbing the ridge on Cribb Groch, Snowden on a mountain rescue training exercise. He fell off the ridge just as he topped out, no one would survive that fall.

I have seen what falls like this do to someone and i'm sure you don't need to hear it but your are a very lucky man to still be with us.

Thank you for sharing your story, in a small way it has helped me with my own grieving process, just listening to how you survived has helped.

I look forward to following you and watching your videos.
Kind Regards,
Phil

Sorry to hear about your friend Phil. I can't imagine what that's like to deal with. As you said, that could easily have been my outcome too and I know how lucky I am to be relatively fit and active now after a thing like that. I'm glad my story helps you in a small way.

It's good to be with you on here :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64233.18
ETH 3491.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54