Half Hour Songwrite Challenge Episode 11 - SLEEVE - 12/14/18 - A Sonic Sensation for Freewrite #419 - a Dtube Exclusive!

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


Hello! Welcome to the 11th episode of HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE 💛

I did not have a good day today. Today was rough. Today was like a meat grinder. So when I saw the prompt SLEEVE I was tempted to just throw in the towel. But it would have been the first time that I had to admit defeat on HALF HOUR SONGWRITE and... I'm not admitting defeat. So I wrote something instead. Here's a song for the prompt SLEEVE... it's not the best ever, but... it isn't nothing!

Be sure to tune in to tomorrow's post to vote for your fave song snippet so I can make it into a full fledged songstravaganza on Sunday!

HALF HOUR SONGWRITE CHALLENGE is an ongoing daily Dtube vlog. Each day I challenge myself to write a song in 30 minutes, using a one word prompt provided by a random word generator (https://wordcounter.net/random-word-generator), by viewer suggestion, or by @mariannewest's daily freewrite on the Steem blockchain.

On Sunday I'll be finishing one song from this week's Half Hour Songwrite Challenge, and posting the completed version. But on SATURDAY you, the viewers, get to decide which one! Saturday's video will feature numbered clips of each of the song fragments composed this week, and you get to vote for the one you'd most like to see made into a finished song. So be sure to tune in on Saturday and vote!

If you have a prompt that you'd like to see me try, drop it in the comments below. If I use your prompt I will send you one SBI as a thank you!

Today's prompt brought to you by @mariannewest's daily five minute freewrite: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-420-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-sleeve

This is my 95th Steemit freewrite!

Today's prompt is: SLEEVE

Lyrics:

THE SOUND

You pull the record from its sleeve
And you put it on the wheel
You set it spinning
And you drop the needle down
In the beginning
Was the word
In the beginning
Was a sound
And the sound was
Music

You wipe the tears
On your sleeve
Because it's all you have
As you're walking down the street
And you don't care who sees
You've got what you need
Little speakers in your ears
And they're playing music

The only thing that redeems you
When you're at your worst
The only thing that blesses you
When you're cursed
The only thing that finds you
When you're lost
That frees your soul
And makes you want
To live again

Is music



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

©2018 Bennett Italia, All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

This is solid dude ! I
Like the fact that from the prompt “sleeve” you were able to connect that with a record and then music. Good thinking , good melodies, good writing on this one dude!
#snapfeedback

Posted using Partiko iOS

Somehow missed this comment! It did take me a minute to think of an angle on sleeve... I was stumped at first. The sleeve of a record turned out to be a good direction to go :)

Thanks so much @dmilliz, and thanks for voting for it on Saturday, it was a fun one to finish and perform.

I just can't tell you how much I love this being a church chorister.

Am here with the weekend freewrite prompt.

Am sure you wanna try it single
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-15-2018-single-prompt-option
...
..
Or possibly wanna go pro.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-12-15-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence
...
..
.

Do have a nice weekend and Happy Sunday in advance.

Posted using Partiko Android

I dunno. I spend a lot of time with God, and from what I can tell he definitely has an awesome sense of humor. I love my creator with all my heart and try to honor him in everything I do, and everything I write.

My perspective is that His creation is founded in vibration. Everything we are derives from it. So when I say "in the beginning was a sound", it's not just a play on the original text. It's my way of saying that "the word" and God are one and the same specifically because they both are rooted in vibration, just as all that God has created is. "Sound", in this case, is my shorthand for vibration.

My experience is that God loves his children and is willing to work with us in our levels of understanding to help us grow through experimentation and experience, as long as our intention is clear to bring ourselves closer to him through this process. In other words, there have been many who, since the beginning of time, have quoted text to suit their own purposes, or obeyed the letter of the law at the expense of the spirit of it, as a way of circumventing it...which really amounts to flouting the law, because the intent behind is really what makes the law. If you follow the words too literally, without seeking the heart and spirit of it, it is bound to be twisted to the wrong ends.

All of which is to say no offense intended. I love my creator and I know my heart's intent. A very happy Sunday to you too my brother!

Ps: I'll prolly go for the 3 prompt again this week. Thanks for the delivery! <3

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no! I came back for the prompt link and see that I completely misread your comment @botefarm. My sincerest apologies. I thought you were saying that you DIDN'T like the lyrics, because they sounded sacrilegious or something...so that's what I was responding to the first time.

That's what I get for reading too fast and on my little phone screen instead of laptop lol.

I guess it also shows my insecurity about writing in areas that might be considered controversial. Any time I write a song that edges over into political or religious territory I'm afraid of being misinterpreted and feel myself getting preemptively defensive. I'll have to work on that.

So, I'm so glad that you liked the song! Especially being a church chorister...which, now that I think about it actually it makes more sense that you would :D

All the best!

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't even think about the sleeve of a record.

Ohh this lyrics are just amazing man😊

#anapfeedback

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by icecreamrobot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi, @bennettitalia!

You just got a 1.75% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @bennettitalia! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @bennettitalia!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.181 which ranks you at #8725 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 67 places in the last three days (old rank 8792).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #102.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have so upped the game of the Prompts
I love love lovedddd this
Loved this!!!!!

Oh thank you @kaerpediem! I'm so glad you liked it :) :) :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82