You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gaming Culture: Is this a Game? / What do we call games these days?

in #dtube6 years ago

I've had Dear Esther on Steam for years and I was planning on playing it one day or the other. Glad I can cross something off my list.

That said, overall I agree on your definition of game, although this is a pretty sticky issue. As you notice yourself, before the advent of videogames games could be both children toys or sports, so it's a word that encompasses a variety of stimuli and circumstances, and the interaction element, in the real world, wasn't really up for discussion. So yeah, I get and, again, agree with your definition, but I would understand if someone where to say "no way, even walking around a virtual world could be classified as gaming, as long as that's what you feel you're doing with your time" because, basically, we're learning and establishing stuff as we go forward.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61238.36
ETH 3278.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46