d.tube video not playing? Solution inside!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, this morning I decided to figure out why on my Chromebook d.tube wasn't playing videos, and just showed me a grey screen. 

I went onto the d.tube Discord and spoke to one of their engineers Hightouch who worked with me to find a working solution. 

First he had me right click anywhere on the d.tube page > inspect > console > Do you have an error message like this?

Failed to load

https://api.steemit.com/ / https://api.steemit.com/
: Response to preflight request doesn't pass access control check: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin 'https://emb.d.tube/' is therefore not allowed access.

Naturally I tried many troubleshooting steps, updating Chrome OS, restarting, clearing the browser, making sure browser was updated, turning off all extensions, and waiting. None of these worked, however they may have contributed towards the overall fix so I included these steps. 

Working Solution:

Add this extension to Chrome and restart the browser. To find the extension go to the Chrome Web Store and search:

Allow-Control-Allow-Origin:

Special thanks again @Hightouch for helping me solve this problem. Please note that this fix is temporary, and that the extension should be removed after the bug is fixed. 

Sort:  

For me this solution fixed d.tube but broke facebook messanger :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64