Georgian Beet Salad

in #dtube5 years ago


This is actually really good. I offered my aunt some after I made it, and she said she doesn't like beets, but she'll try a little; and she said she liked it a lot! This is actually the first time I ever cooked beets in my life. I made it the first time and I guess i didn't boil it long enough, and then I couldn't peel them. I had to make the video all over again.

Beets are one of the ingredients in V-8 juice. Not a lot of vegetables that people regularly eat in the US are purple. Beta carotene is what makes it purple. I don't think I get enough of it. I do drink a lot of vegetable juice though. I understand too much beta carotene is dangerous. I didn't read too thoroughly into that. I eat everything in moderation just to be safe.

I'm not happy with the way the audio sounds in this video. I'm not sure why there's still a hiss sound. I did everything possible to minimize it in Adobe Premiere and Audition. I might have to change the settings on my PC before the next voiceover. Sometimes Windows is goofy and settings randomly get set back to default. The YouTube version below sounds better. So much time goes into the audio on all my videos. I need a soundproof studio. It is what it is.

As I often tend to do, I didn't really measure or weigh anything. I just made it. I don't even know if this is really what they eat in Georgia. I used a recipe I found online and just made it own slightly different way. I guess the recipe is authentic. According to US copyright law, a list of ingredients and a process to prepare food are not plagiarism. The ingredients here are approximate.

INGREDIENTS

7 medium beets

1 cup of walnuts

3 tablespoons of Greek yogurt

4 cloves of garlic

1 small handful of cilantro

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

Salt

Pepper

DIRECTIONS

Peel the beets.

Boil the beets for about 45 minutes until it pieces easily with a knife.

Pan roast walnuts in olive oil on high for about 5 minutes until brown, but not black.

When the beets are finished boiling, replace the boiling water with cold water to cool them down.

Chop the cilantro.

Mince the garlic.

Grate the cooled beets.

Mix all the ingredients together and enjoy!

Longer and more descriptive videos on my YouTube Channel

I swear I'm gonna finally finish my store (INTP problems) on Homesteaders Co-op real soon. I make candles and all natural soap. I also have plants for sale. Be sure to check out all the terrific homesteading and homemade craft co-op vendors.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Make me some! I love beets and you can dye clothes with them

I love beet so I know I would love this salad thanks for sharing and also

Thanks for being an Active member of SteemUSa !tip

I believe that is delicious to eat ... but is surely great to look at too ... beautiful colors

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @roger.remix and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

  • find more information about the service
  • join the curation team and support this initiative


    This service is part of @theinnerblocks
    Join our discord to get in touch with us: https://discord.gg/5zRjax

I know a few beet salads and I love them both, so I know I will love yours.

Thank you for sharing.

🎁 Hi @xsgreen-cook! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Sepia Saturday A Bit Of Trash And Reflections Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Congratulations @xsgreen-cook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thank you for the recipe and the list of ingredients.

Yummy! 😋 where is the beetroot when I need it?!? 😆 But for sure I have to try that out as soon as I have some!

#resteemed & shared on the @theinnerblocks Discord channel - as well as chosen as a one of my today's favourite @diytube picks 👍 Steem on! We need more of this tasty healthy stuff on @dtube

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats a salad I would love I do love beets and have then as often as I can :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65