Creole Seasoning

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is possibly the easiest recipe I've published so far. It's a basic mixture of dried herbs and traditionally used in many Louisiana recipes. You might be wondering why I'm making such a simple recipe. The main answer is, because I'm going to be using it in many future recipes. Another reason is I wanna bury all my older YouTube videos where I said "find the recipe on Google+." They were all before I joined Steem. I recently posted my thoughts on the deletion on Google+ on my personal blog.

Some people think cajun and creole are the same thing. They're not. Creole is country food, and cajun is urban food. They're both similar. They're inspired by mixed cultures including French, African, and Indian. Many years ago I worked at a New Orleans restaurant. We blended all the herbs and spices from scratch. I will have a lot of creole and cajun food coming in the near future.

RECIPE

4 tablespoons of Himalayan pink salt

1 tablespoon black pepper

2 tablespoons of onion powder

2 tablespoons of garlic powder

2 tablespoons of dried oregano

2 tablespoons of dried basil

1 tablespoon of dried thyme

1 tablespoon of white pepper

5 tablespoons of paprika

1 tablespoon of cayenne pepper

DIRECTIONS

Grind the salt and pepper. It takes a while, so you might wanna buy them already ground.

Mix it all together.

Longer videos on my YouTube channel

Sort:  

Uhmmm—frikkin awesome! What a great way to introduce yourself to kitchen #fff, @xsgreen-cook, thanks for hanging out with us! Excellent post, sir, video and all—thanks for showing off! Welcome!

@xsgreen-cook,
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 38.
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
2CEE9C63-C646-4F11-854B-AEED926F621B.gif
Good Luck

Welcome, and good luck. It does get a little hot in this kitchen, so you know what they say, If you can,t handle the heat...😁😁😁
Oh right, Creole Seasoning, not only can you handle the heat, your bringing the heat.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by XSgreen-cook Edgy-Ed-Morrison from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thats cool you shared that I think I would like this mix, my wife would have loved it but she cannot have many spices these days, but this mix I could use if I am cooking something separately for me

Hey, @xsgreen-cook.

Interesting. I didn't know that creole and cajun were differentiated that way. I assumed they were similar if not a like, but urban vs. country is an interesting separation.

I've not had a lot of either kind of foods. I live in Oregon, and while we have different places to choose from, obviously, the influence isn't really there. I think we probably have more Mexican and Chinese than anything, along with hamburger or steak places.

The little I have eaten, though, I've enjoyed. Not sure how authentic any of it was. The spices you put together all sound like stuff I enjoy eating, too, so maybe I'll need to find a recipe for all of that to go on. :)

Oh, and a belated welcome to FoodFightFriday. I'm normally quicker on the draw, but somehow I got a week behind. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91