Drumming The African Rhythm KUKU With Dancers

in #dtube5 years ago


This video is from a show I produced at the Fine Arts Center located in Colorado Springs in 1998.

Kuku is the youngest of the traditional rhythms. It is approximately 95 years old. Kuku is one of the most popular rhythms today because villagers from all directions love to incorporate their own particular steps to it, and drummers love to express their particular phrasing as well. In a word...Kuku is fun.
Kuku always opens with what is called a "call" which is a type of introduction and announcement that the rhythms is beginning. The one played here is somewhat elaborate but still has the basic call in it.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That is absolutely fantastic rhythm!! I had to wait for a while when dtube run the video, but it definitely worth it. Just amazing!

I am really glad you like it. When a rhythm is played right they sound amazing. Can you tell the difference between the African drumming and drum circle drumming?

Yes, there is a big difference between Kuku and Drum Circle rhythm you shows in a video with a full moon. Tempo, and a sound itself, I'd say "the mood" is different. But another video of yours "Gazebo Drum Circle" sounds very likely, except of set of instruments. I may be wrong, of course, as my ear don't get used to drum's solo.
Anyway, I like it, and I showed it to my husband, he liked it too

Do you like one style better than the other?

Yes, I think african is more driving and I really love it ) And, what about you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64