To all content creators jumping from Youtube to DTube

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Hello all, just thought I would make a post about the issues I have had trying to upload to DTube so that you wont make the same mistakes and can have an easier time getting started.

I have almost 100 videos uploaded on Youtube, high quality gameplay from a real-time World War II Strategy Game called Company of Heroes 2. All of the games last an average of about 30 minutes, so the files are incredibly large. Additionally, I render them in 1080p 60fps, which leads most of them to be around 5+ Gigabytes, which is unsuitable for DTube/the blockchain. Whenever I tried to drop the video files in, there would be an unlimited load time and it would have a upload rate of 0.

The solution to this problem is a program called HandBrake (link below)

https://handbrake.fr/

This program allows you to compress large video files to under 1g, so that they can be uploaded to DTube. I just tested it out on one of my 30 minutes gameplays and uploaded it successfully to DTube. I was frustrated before, but now that I have figured out the solution, I will start uploading my content on DTube tomorrow.

Finally, for issues pertaining to cover photos for videos, all of mine seem to be too large for DTube to handle.
This can also be easily fixed by opening up your photo in the paint app and reducing it to fit the file size.
Step by step process linked below.

http://www.wikihow.com/Change-the-Size-of-an-Image-in-KB

Sort:  

Thank you, I haven't used DTube yet but that will be good to know before I end up having the same problem myself!

Thanks for the info. Much appreciated! I forgot all about Handbrake!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thanks for the advice... I was going to tell you convert to MP4 with less framerate (unless you want an amazing framerate)... But your solution is better!!

Congratulations @wardaddy779! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94