DTube AND IT'S BUGS: Some suggestions for Improvements.

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

source

I'm a YouTuber and I've been hearing a lot about DTube from a lot of people when I attended @steemfest 2.

I was pretty curious and thought of giving it a try yesterday.

I uploaded my TimeLapse video on DTube instead of YouTube for a change 

After uploading I waited for around 40 minutes and I didn't get any views or upvotes. 

I couldn't figure out the reasons. 

Here's what I noticed: 

#1

I went to the hash tag section and noticed that DTube automatically adds #DTube in front of every hash tag that you've typed.

For eg: If you put #video, it adds it as #dtube-video.

Since nobody searches for #dtube-video, the post doesn't get as much exposure as compared to #video.

I had to manually edit the post on Steemit and change the hashtags again!

Suggestion #1

Please don't modify the hash tags. 

---

#2

I was checking out the various settings of this YouTube competitor when I noticed that I've been logged into 2 accounts.

But here's the catch: They are the same accounts!

It had asked me to login twice: first time when I opened DTube and the second time when I clicked "Upload a video."

But then again, I noticed one more thing. 

One of the accounts has Claim Reward option and the other doesn't.

Suggestion #2:

Don't forget to fix that bug.

---

#3

As soon as I uploaded the video, I forwarded the link to some of my friends on Steemit and asked them if the video works for them.

All of them responded that it doesn't work for them.

Most of them opened the link on phone.

I tried opening it on phone and all it shows is a white screen instead of the video.

Suggestion #3

Make it compatible with phone.

---

#4

When I opened it on my computer, all it does is buffer. 

It takes a hell lot of time to load.

My guess is it's mainly because it's loading in the highest resolution that it's uploaded in.

In my case it's 1080p.

Suggestion #4

Provide an option to view the video at lower resolutions. 

Try to reduce the buffer time if it's because of some other reason than what I mentioned above.

---

#5

I noticed there's an option for playback rate. 

98% of the people won't bother using that option in my opinion. 

This is purely my opinion so I won't suggest anything about this.

Suggestion #5

Work on getting subtitles option on DTube.

Hoping you work on this to make it a better place for Video creators @heimindanger


cya


Sort:  

You might find some of those bugs have been addressed or will be soon in this post https://steemit.com/dtube/@heimindanger/d-tube-0-5-big-optimizations

Yeah! I saw that.
Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64