Inky runway sketch

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hair used to be my weak point but now I actually enjoy it!




I can’t be the only one who has struggled with hair. Looking back on my old work, it‘s obvious that I was overthink it or rushing through. Fast forward to the current me, I love sketching hair. It’s now one of my favorite areas when it comes to inking.

I began this sketch with an intense gaze that needed great hair to compliment it. You’ll see the gradual evolution in the video. A few things I took into consideration when creating the hair was it’s appearance when it’s combed back and draped. I wanted it to be dark, slick with high shine. I think it looks beautiful against the pale skin and subtle freckles.


What techniques do you use to draw hair? Feel free to share them below!

Thanks for checking out my work!🦊


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

This one looks very fierce! the look and the hair made a strength looking gal! <3

Thanks! I’m glad you liked it!

for sure! <3

I think I’ve always loved doing hair, just wasn’t any good at it til recently 🤣 I need a lot more practice at wavy and curly hair and updos though (I love long loose flowy hair), seems like you’ve got that dialled 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think I’ve always loved doing hair, just wasn’t any good at it til recently

Gosh, story of my life!

You have made a beautiful hairstyle! I really like the brightness, your inking process is so clean, I loved seeing it! I saw that you had thought to make her hair longer, but it is beautiful as you left it at the end.

I think we always have our Achilles heel when it comes to drawing, there are several things that almost make us start the hair XD, hair is one of those. In my case I think I should see more different hairstyles and colors, because I always fall in the same circle of doing the same hairstyles and colors.
I have to change the XD look, lately I have had some brushes that have helped a lot, before I used to do it hair by hair and it drove me crazy LOL-.

I saw that you had thought to make her hair longer, but it is beautiful as you left it at the end.

So glad that you agree with my choice. I felt like the extra hair was taking away from her strong bold look. I’m also guilty of doing the same hairstyle. It’s either a short hairstyle or a fluffy afro! 😆 I used to also do every single strand of hair one at a time, it also drove me crazy!!

Your post has been featured on @artzone

Courtesy of @nmalove

Thank you! I appreciate it! ^^

Yess! hair is actually fun the moment you get used to it!

It is!! Btw, so glad to see you posting art again!

Thank you!!! It's nice to see your improvement everytime im on and off as well!
I'll do my best to daily posts! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73