By The Rivers Of Babylon Psalm 137

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


(Psa 137:1-4) By the rivers of Babylon, There we sat down, yea, we wept When we remembered Zion.

(Psa 19:14) Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my Redeemer.

"Rivers of Babylon" is a Rastafarian song written and recorded by Brent Dowe and Trevor McNaughton of the Jamaican reggae group The Melodians in 1970. The lyrics are adapted from the texts of Psalms 19 and 137 in the Hebrew Bible.

The song was popularized in Europe by the 1978 Boney M. cover version, which was awarded a platinum disc and is one of the top ten all-time best-selling singles in the UK.

NB: Play the Video at DTube

Source: BonyM
Wikipedia
Public Domain
NKV


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The scenery was incredible @veejay

Thank you @ipolatjeh1988, wishing you a prosperous New Year.

Happy New Year is also my brother @veejay

This so emotional. I never knew this song was taken from the holy book. Thanks for sharing dear

Use to sing this song during my school days

I never knew that the lyrics were taken from the Bible until I did a research about the children of Israel and the river of Babylon. My research led me to the Book of Psalms 137.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84