Let's Play Bethesda Pinball Doom Table Played on ZTE ZMAX 2 Android Phone

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Unlike the Fallout table, the Doom table is just one detail after another on the screen. This can be distracting, I know it was for me. It was incredibly tough to follow the ball sometimes and the mini games built into the table do nothing but distract from understanding where you are on the table (bad placement of the second, elevated, right paddle doesn't help).

Graphically, the Doom table beats out the Fallout table but as we all know, great graphics don't make a great game. These graphics are actually what hurt my enjoyment of playing the Doom table. Things are just too active, over detailed if you will, for me to follow the ball. Couple this with the fact that the ball can teleport around the table from one spot to another and it gets rather hectic to follow - annoying even.

As previously mentioned, the engine used in Bethesda Pinball was developed by ZEN Studios, they are known for their great pinball engines and this one is no different. The ball physics are spot on, too bad they are marred by other problems in the Doom table.

Bethesda Pinball tables, at least in the free mode, are score attack affairs. Earn as many points as you can in two minutes. Before playing the table though, you challenge another player who has scored (seemingly random) already. I say this is seemingly random because someone that is ranked 500 out of the total players and holds a two million point score should not be outranked by someone at 485 and holding a one point two million score. It doesn't seem right.

If you beat that person's score then you receive experience points and coins. The coins can be used to replenish your available challenges (twice before having to wait). The experience points go towards leveling up your account (not sure what for at the moment though).

When you first start playing pick your table carefully. The reason being, you are stuck with that table till you complete some basic requirements (a certain number of wins in online play or buy the other tables). I started with the Fallout table then moved to the Doom table, leaving the Skyrim table for last (I still have to win three more online matches in Doom to unlock it). This all can be bypassed if you wish to pay real cash - I opt for how much fun you can have with what you are given at the time of download (either free or paid up front but no In App Purchases).

So far, the Doom table is the worst table in my opinion. I simply don't like it. I am not a huge fan of pinball in general anyhow (i lost interest in it after Midnight Magic on Atari 2600). I certainly won't be dropping $2.99 per table or $9.99 for all three to play whenever I want. Honestly, after these three reviews are done, I will probably only come back and play the Fallout table from time to time (unless the Skyrim table is simply amazing).

Pinball fans, you could certainly do worse.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It looks great this game of pinball, it has a great lighting, I would love to play it hehehe... Thanks for sharing @triverse

@triverse I really love pinball machines in real life the lights and sounds are fantastic to see in person I have never been a fan of the games though.

I completely understand what you mean. There is so much missing from the physical game. On the other hand, the digital versions can do so much more than the physical ones can (at least until holograms and such become the norm). I am a fan of both, though I have to admit, most physical tables are priced so high that it is quite jarring trying to learn the basics of keeping the ball in play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81