Korg Volca Series : Love or Hate ?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Korg Volca has helped change the landscape for budget synthesizers, ushering in a new era of budget based synths. Feelings are mixed on the line, what side of the fence do you fall?

Many people love Korg Volca for the immediacy and workflow, while others feel they are to small and limited.

I've enjoyed the Volca Series, they helped kick start this You Tube channel. I enjoyed the Korg Volca Series flow since day one and I'm amped to have them return to my setup.

This video jumps into the these topics and others based around the Korg Volca Series.

You Tube Channel : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLIto_eLYSGNO_nZCu93qNg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I had a volca kick. It was great, since it has midi input. I sold it after half a year. I think the volca series is pretty good. I still want to get an mbase from jomox which was my initial plan but it costs a bit more....

Posted using Partiko Android

Never had the kick, I owned keys, bass and beats. I enjoyed them a lot.

Never had the kick,
I owned keys, bass and beats. I
Enjoyed them a lot.

                 - toddjsmith1979


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

As for pricer gear I own the digitakt and OP-1

ah right, nice!
wow digitakt looks fun

I kind of go back and forth about them. I love that they kick started the budget synth movement, but at the same time I wasn't remotely inspired by their original line finding them to be solid for standard sounds, but really lacking in features that make them stand out from a sound design perspective. Essentially, when it came to making music on a budget I found these to be significantly less inspiring than most of my VSTs coupled with a cheap MIDI controller, particularly with Volca's like Sample which was a pretty big misfire for me. Even when thinking of it in terms of mobile production, they are hard to justify when more full featured portables like Novation's Circuit exist or simply owning an iPad with some simple apps. Plus, I'm not an analog purist at all, so it's main selling point of cheap analog didn't really hold an appeal for me. There are some people doing really cool things with them, but they weren't quite my speed. Not hating though, if you love them keep doing what you love.

However, this changed with the Volca FM, which really provides something unique at its price point. It sounds lovely. The complicated nature of FM synthesis is simplified and I think it is the first module hitting the full potential of what this line can be. I'm also pretty interested in the upcoming Volca Drum and Volca Modular which seem to have an amazing set of features on them and provide something new to the market.

I'm pretty appreciative of the ground that the Volca series broke and I'm fully aware that they will have a legacy that lasts. Much like the Microkorg was the entry way for a whole generation into hardware, Volca is going to be the gear that kick starts a whole generation into music making simply because of affordability. Much respect and I'm very interested where they go into the future.

I loved the OG 3. Never touched the kick/sample. Fm was sick. =)

Huh. Korg volca series? As this is the first time i will hear something like that. Thanks for sharing

I haven't actually played them, but I like the idea. I've always been a sucker for odd little stuff like that though.

I enjoy the immediacy of these little synths.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Blockchain Music from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89