You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our First Humanure Harvest! We Take You Every Step of the Way!

in #dtube6 years ago

You guys are awesome! Just 2 weeks ago I got a book about composting humanure, because as we sit and plan, we continue to come up with the road block of what to do with our waste. I found this book, then of course synchronicity being what it is, I found your video and I'm so jazzed about it. I never thought I'd get excited about poop! 😂
I'd love to know more about the construction of your system. I'm edging a but more toward thermophilic (as we can literally throw just about anything in a system like that, eliminating the need for multiple compost systems) but if this system is safe, I'd love to learn more about it. Like materials, what you use as medium (tho looks like sawdust) and construction.
Is the outhouse smelly when you are using it? How do you keep the smell down? And also, do you throw other stuff down there?
The outhouse itself looks like a pretty pleasant place to make a doodie, with a lovely wash basin in the middle. Really cool.
Here's the book I found, for anyone who is interested in the nitty gritty of humanure!
IMG_20181114_094854978.jpg
Awesome post guys!
Resteeming!

Xx ToL

Sort:  

... and as you can see from the tile backdrop, this is my current "bathroom reading", the irony not being lost on anyone in my household 😂 😂

happy you enjoyed the post. Beings jazzed about poop is an amazing trait, way to go!

As mentioned in the video, we use sawdust to keep ALL smells down and absorb extra moisture. If the system smells, add more organic matter. We get partially rotted sawdust or planer shavings that are often covered in mycelium.

The two bays are built with local stone with lime mortar and the walls are salvaged barn wood and slip straw with clay plater. Interior is finished in plaster and cedar paneling.

The only other things we toss down there are animal bones to avoid our dog messing up our composting piles. The soldier flies make quick work of these.

Happy you're reading the book, it's a real keeper ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44