My First Speed Painting Recording

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


My First Speed Painting recording

Music used in this video:

I've been playing around with the idea of learning to paint using photoshop. I feel like I need to pick something and stick to it. I've played with soft pastel, acrylic, oil, charcoal, pencil, on canvas, thick paper, thin paper, transparent sheets, photoshop and with a variety of subject matter. I know what I'm gravitating to, I just don't know how to finalize and stick with any one thing. I guess I'm just in a constant state of experimentation. I'm looking for that moment where I think, "ok, there's something to this that feels more 'me' than the other mediums / subject matter / materials. AND this is something that I can really sink my teeth into and keep going and finally start creating stuff that I'm proud of and could possibly make money off of. and get noticed for." Though I should probably give up the money desire. And if I wanted to be noticed I probably shouldn't have chosen an art that was so separate from everyone.

I was very nervous while working on this. Because I was recording what I was doing, I felt like someone was looking at me while I was working. I'm not that pleased with the colors I chose, but, again I know what direction I'm trying to head in. I used to go to figure drawing groups once a week that would last two hours. We would draw a nude model. One thing I started doing very successfully was using weird / non natural colors to depict the model. Using out there colors was something I really liked. I've never been drawn to realism. But when I draw the models I always naturally drew them in a more realistic old school way. I hated that. When I started bringing color into it I thought it brought a lot of interest to the drawings. The colors on this drawing don't really feel very "me" for lack of a better word. I don't really like how candy land the painting turned out to be. This took around an hour to do. Fine amount of time for a doodle / drawing / practice. :)

I've tried to do this with my paintings of trees and my attempts at surrealism doesn't really work out. I'm still trying to figure out what I can do with photoshop. The tablet I have is pretty small and I don't have a great desk setup but you got to work with what you have.

If I do this type of thing again, I'll try and find some music I can use for background music. This is just one more of my experiments. I know now if I don't just do SOMETHING. I will never do ANYTHING..


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

red trees purple clouds.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thespacebetween from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18