Hunting for Elderberries!!!

in #dtube6 years ago


Hey Y'all!!!
I've been anxiously awaiting to pick elderberries to make elderberry syrup for the first time. We headed down to the creek where the farmer told me they were waiting for me. Unfortunately many of them were eaten by the birds. We did manage to find enough to make some syrup. I'll share that with ya tomorrow!!!
Hope it's been a great day! Thanks for watching!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We planted about 50 elderberry bushes this year. I hope to see a decent harvest next year.

Wow!!! That is awesome! I hope you do as well!

We make elderberry syrup every year and we add all sorts of good stuff to it. This was one of our very first Steemit Postsway back when... But I'm eager to see what your recipe is!

Eeek! This is my first time. I only added clove, cinnamon, local honey. I saw you could use other things but that will be for another batch!

I bought some cuttings and trying to get my own going. One died but the other one is growing nicely. It will be a nice addition to the yard!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes! I hope it flourishes!

Me too and if not I recently discovered a place where I could get some more cuttings! This time at no cost!

Elderberry syrup! Yum! Aso elderberry pies and wine! Birds likely have been beating you to the berries. I always know when my fruit is almost ready...I get more birds coming around.

Ugh! Well at least they shared a few! I need to get to the other side of the creek.

I have an employee that has some elderberry farms and he swears by the medicinal qualities of Elderberry Juice. He recommends a couple of tablespoons each day.

I’ve bought it from a friend, but never tried it for myself. I’m giving the kids a couple teaspoons a day. They are packed full of vitamins A,B, and C. Trying to boost those immunities before winter:)

That is awesome! It is always fun to pick wild berries. Stuff you didn't have to plant and spend time watering and pulling weeds. Nature is just like, here you go, have some free berries! haha, I always enjoyed find wild blackberries when camping, good times! haha

Yes. It’s definitely a blessing!

howdy guys..elderberries. I have no idea what they're like. how do you eat those, in pies? lol. it's nice to have them so close by though. especially in case some kind of collapse happens.

You don’t want to eat them. They have to be boiled and you drink the juice that they produce. Full of vitamins and boosting immunity properties. Nature’s vitamins.

oh I see, well that sounds wonderful..and are they naturally sweet also?

nature provides enough great stuff and we can continue to reap from nature if we continue to show some love and care for Mother Earth

The earth definitely produces plants for our healing. We’ve forgotten how to use them unfortunately.

Very true @thefarmerswife. We have forgotten how to use the medicine nature provides but i am glad there a few persons who are trying to teach others how to reap the healing from nature sustainably. My organization @thegreens started a project last year known as Herbal Gardens for Schools and the goal is to train studens in naturopathy and teach them how to grow herbs in school herbal gardens. Will start talking about it in the days ahead. Every week, we also have a 10 minutes radio slot known as Nature's Cure during which we educate people how they can get healed naturally using medicinal biodiversity.

I really enjoy these videos of yours (and I will be elderberry hunting soon too). I have been thinking of getting into doing some myself. would you share how you edit and such and how much time it takes you? I'm a complete newbie when it comes to video but it's such a great way to share little bits and pieces :)

Thank you! I use an app on my phone called splice. It allows you to add music and edit the videos. It takes me about 30 min to an hour. You can totally do it!

Thank you :) I'll check that out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89