Dtube has some serious problems...

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Watch Dtube has some serious problems... video on DTube


I rant for a bit about how DTube makes it a little too easy to pirate content right now. I dont feel like this is a good thing overall. So with that said I will be contining to use Youtube for now.

I also talk about the feedback I have received for Project Stray among other topics.

Download and play the first demo build of my game Project Stray
https://steemit.com/gaming/@thecastle/download-and-play-the-first-demo-build-of-my-game-project-stray

Sort:  

I tired uploading to Dtube the other day and just froze my computer every time I tried so I gave up on it lol.

LOL isn't Youtube a pirate heaven as well?

That said, I tried to upload content to DTube many times very unsuccesfully.

You might mean Facebook. Facebook kind of has that problem to some extent. But Google has the best tech in the industry at spotting pirated content. I don't know, maybe I am wrong though. I would rather be wrong on this one honestly.

Yeah sorry Youtube is full of pirated content. People also upload videos with no names to hide the content and then use Youtube as a pirated video host for their own websites.

I totally agree we don't want pirated content here on dtube, plenty of legal stuff to upload anyway.

I go to youtube and can find a lot of movies, and music videos for free, from third parties. I even watched the NBA Finals there this year. And you can watch Rick and Morty episodes from this same week.

I doubt that people are able to profit from this transaction.

What will the copyright mafia do against dtube? It's decentralized. They can go fuck themselves. If I want to buy a movie, I buy it anyways.

They can close and seize the domain name dtube.video

The video hosting may be decentralized.. but the domain name isn't.

There is tonnes of good content and people should be making legal content to upload to dtube, perhaps promote channels or something like this can help show case legal content and hide illegal content.

Perhaps the community couldn simply flag illegal content.. although this could lead to false flagging and good content being deleted.

Then what happens when domain name hosting is decentralised?

That's when they go after the ISP.

If the creator was smart they can't size the domain. How do you think all the other (really) illegal pages keep online? They don't even have a whois record at all.

/edit

Okay that isn't the case.

He should fix this ASAP, I've written him a PM.

The author needs to be more worried about having his legs broken by some burly dudes who do things like finding and breaking peoples legs for a living. That would be my main worry if I was in his shoes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73