Why in the world is Dtube telling me my private posting key is wrong!?

in #dtube7 years ago

This is my confused/aggravated face. What am I aggravated and confused about? DTUBE!

Don't get me wrong, I am totally behind Dtube as there are a MULTITUDE of reasons for it. Some of the people I love and follow ( @mericanhomestead @craig-grant @dollarvigilante ) are exploring it's usefulness as I am TRYING to as well. The problem I'm having is that every time I input my Steemit user name and key (the same one I used to log in and write this post) it gives me an error stating: "Error- Private posting key is wrong."

UGH!! I have NO clue what I'm doing wrong, if anything!

Once I found out that Dtube was directly linked into Steemit I was completely stoked! I love the idea of a decentralized platform to post videos on ESPECIALLY if it's directly linked into Steemit! I, personally, have been waiting to post videos until I found something other than YouTube as it seems "BigBrother" has found their way to infiltrate and completely censor it to what "they" deem we should see....

There should be NO confusion as to why we all need such a platform! I had a sigh of relief when I found out that something had launched supplying such a need. But, with that being said, this problem still persists. Maybe it's something simple that I'm overlooking. I am completely guilty of overlooking the simplest of things when it comes to this. No shame here! But I do know that if that's the case, there's a possibility that others may be having the same problem.

So, If anyone could help me and in turn help others that may be having similar problems to find a solution it would be MUCH appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

KEEP ON STEEMING!

Please upvote, follow and resteem!!

Sort:  

Hey @thatdude
Please don't use your normal Steem password credentials on DTube.
DTube is asking that you use your STEEM user name and your STEEM "Private" POSTING key... which you'll find under your Steem Wallet>Permissions tab.
The key that immediately shows as your Posting key is actually the Posting public key, not the private one.
You'll notice off to the right of that key, the blue box stating "Show Private Key".
If you click on it, it should take you to a pop up to unlock your account once again, using your "main" login details, and then it will reveal what your current "private" Posting Key is.
Now would be a good time to change your Posting Key password to something different from your main.
BE SURE YOUR "POSTING PRIVATE KEY "IS NOT THE SAME AS YOUR MAIN STEEM ACCOUNT KEY!!!
If it is... CHANGE IT to something different from your main login.
Once you've verified that your POSTING key is completely different from your OWNER key... then your good to go to use your Posting private key on DTube.

AGAIN... VERIFY THAT YOUR POSTING KEY IS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM YOUR OWNER KEY. Otherwise you've just publicly published your main Steem owner private keys.

Hope this makes sense and helps?

I wish my upvote was worth more bro! It will be soon enough though. Thanks a million! I have it situated AND updated my password just to be on the safe side. I plan to write another post including this info to help others. Giving credit where credit is due of course!

No worries @thatdude. It was one of those on-the-fly replies I did, so just hope it was clear enough to guide you in the proper direction while being somewhat understandable LOL.

Thanks a lot for the answer. I was having the same problem/misunderstanding. Also THX to thatdude for starting the ball rolling. :)

Great explanation, upvoted. It's not very user friendly thought is it...

I had the same problem but after solving that I'm finding the submit button is broken for me. I've tried several times. I'm at

and I get to step 3 but when I click the submit button nothing happens. I opened up the web console and I see all kinds of problems there but it's over my head.

Posting some screen shots here:


Can anyone help?

Wow! Thanks @ajvest I was having the same issue. I'm glad you posted this.

I messed up and did the same as that dude did. Is there any way to change my main private key now that has been effectively compromised? I feel like an idiot.

This is sooooo Helpful. I'm not sure id have found it without this.

Which is a problem in general, but i love the idea of DTube..

Thanks for the help,

Nick

Cheerz for that. I could tell there was another password/key I needed but did not know what it was, or where to get it.. All sorted now..

Thank you for bringing this issue up. I was just about to hit my head on the wall because of the same problem :D Thanks to @ajvest for the solution :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99