One of my favorite YouTubers (1 mil subscribers) is forced to delete 40 of his vids due to YouTube's demonetization crusade

in #dtube7 years ago

demonetize.jpg

I'm a big fan of PsychedSubstance's channel, and his videos have been of tremendous benefit not only to myself, but to the hundreds of thousands of people looking for guidance and education on properly working with powerful psychoactive substances such as LSD, DMT, Psilocybin etc...

YouTube began to censor/demonetize PsychedSubstance educational videos last year with their new algorithms, which automatically flag videos that contain certain keywords like "drugs."

It really pains me to see how YouTube's dictatorial, draconian policies are causing many content creators to loose significant portions of their hard-earned revenues.

In his latest video, PsychedSubstance reaches out to his audience for help on Patreon:

On the plus side, a crafty Dtuber already left a comment on PsychedSubstance's latest plea-for-help video, pointing out the benefits of a decentralized video platforms like D.tube!

Feel free to upvote that comment to the top, or leave your own! :-)

comment.png

A Call to Action!

Steemians have been enjoying the benefits of Dtube for months now, but there are still millions of established and up-and-coming Youtubers out there that are getting crushed by Youtube's demonetization hammer.

So....why don't we let them know about the benefits of Dtube?

Image credit: 1

Sort:  

haha thats cool, i hope he joins!! would be nice to have some trippy posts on my feed :)

Hey buddy great post. I enjoy this type of content as well and have no objections with this type of content. Just to be clear they demonetized him but didn't delete the videos correct?

This opens the debate to what is censorship. Technically speaking IMHO they havn't censored him, they have just stopped his ability to monetize.

Personally I agree with you this is a form of censorship but the reason I bring this up is because I see something similar happening on Steemit.

So I'm no fan of Trevon or Craig but people are collectively downvoting their content so they can't make money. I made a post about this the other day basically saying the Steemit community deciding to gang up on people is a slippery slope.

I agree if Trevon and Craig are making BItconnect or Davor videos fine flag them because it's spam and to protect people. But if Craig wants to make a video about baking cake or a great crock pot meal he found there's really no reason to downvote him.

I guess basically what I'm saying is us Steemians can't be hypocritical. If were going to tout Steemit as a place where everyone can earn we can't then gangup and prevent people from earning because at that point were no better than Youtube.

I saw this too and sent him an email where I tell about Steemit and DTube (I hope it was his correct address). Haven't got any answer yet but I hope he discovers DTube someway; there were many comments in the comment section mentioning it! The best way might be through Patreon; I'm pretty sure he engages with his supporters in it.

Good job. That Dtube comment by Reeree now has 63 votes and is close to the top 10 comments on that video. I'm sure he would have seen it by now. Let's hope he starts posting on Dtube soon.

Threw an upvote to that as well, let's hope for the best and keep mentioning DTube so that he can't ignore it :D

Do not forget to visit my blog and help upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51