Unpacking the Tron AMA with Justin Sun and Ned yesterday and the talking down from the ledge witness forum afterwards.

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Lots to unpack from yesterday.

This was pre-coffee but either process it or not, no problem to me, these are just slightly unfiltered thoughts from what I saw before, during and after the Ama and then onto the witness forum which ended up running for ages.

It was interesting to watch/listen to other people talking people down from the powering down ledge about to see the positives in it. I couldn’t work out if it was because people were concerned about securing the network or because of power play positions at the top of the governance tree.

It did kind make me think retroactively about what might be some of the core issues we have with retention when we have this kind of power struggle at the top with everyone wanting to have tentacles into everything but hey, that’s decentralised networks right?


Just my 2 cents anyway from yesterday, I personally think that Justin Sun is a businessman looking to funnel his funds (where do they come from?) into projects and technology that are great but never achieved market fit to the mass market — steem is certainly in that boat, will he be able to shape this into something more, will we be TRONIT on the Samsung phone platform, could that be good for us?

Or will the steem token go away and all of the witnesses in the top 20 get voted away for new ones of Justin Sun’s bidding, I mean he has 70+ million steem power now and the top position is about 40 million as it stands today, he could certainly spin up a bunch of nodes and then we have a completely different model in operation — that could happen quickly.

The bottom line for me thou, will I truly have my forever immutable blog blockchain ledger on steem or not?

To be continued (or not, depends if Justin clicks his fingers right)

Humbly Yours,
Thanos
__humble xx

PS - as I finished this Justin Sun posted this on his twitter. .. he’s gotta be careful with these tweets else he might end up to a hard fork situation happening real quick…. https://twitter.com/justinsuntron/status/1228971875851632640


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Warning! This user is on our black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #appeals channel in our discord.

Best commentary I've seen, thanks man. Yeah Ned did not get any attention. People need to remember steem was his idea.

Yup we will see. Kick back and observe

So he raised 70mil from the ICO but his also backed by a pool of Chinese VCs and what his trying to do is grow 2 metric user numbers and dapp numbers the more he grows that the more he can command in future funding rounds for the Tron foundation which is what his initial investors want

I think this also helps him get a better footprint in the west and may help in secure more interest in the Tron foundation from foreign investors as he diversified the portfolio

If his a busienss man like I think he is he will look to support the core team in their goals, staff up as he did at BitTorrent and Dlive and let these businesses play out in their seperate niches!

I am also very eager to see how this develops. Somehow I have that lovely idea that I will keep what I had before. But from experience I know that sometimes goes away.

For a long time we had the GNU version of STEEM and his puppy Steemit. I think now we are going towards the Inc version finally. The problem with those, is that depending on their evolution, can either fail or be bought again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.17
ETH 2341.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33