EXCLUSIVE DTube Video 34: YouTubes BIGGEST mistake!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Can a single mistake destroy an entire business? I believe it can and YouTube is making that mistake right now. If you want to know what that mistake is, watch the video above! I'm Tanbay and if you're new to my DTube channel check out my introduction video with 24 interesting facts about me here:

My fiancé @lauracody and myself are Travel Bloggers/Instagrammers/YouTubers known as 'Travelling Weasels'.

For more info read this: http://www.travellingweasels.com/p/about.html Don't forget to subscribe to my DTube channel if you're new:

PLEASE NOTE: All opinions are my own


▶️ DTube ▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

You're right my brotha. @DTube will rule. Can't wait to see upcoming developments! Upvoted you for being right about YT and right about DT :D

I think DTube could be successful, but they need to have better search and discovery, as well as improve the uploader...A LOT. Analytics would be good too, but other than that they have YouTube beat. Audience-wise, YouTube has the upper hand, but that won't matter if DTube has better content.

I don't want to give the mistake away so people don't watch the video, but I agree that they are making that mistake and it is unfortunate :P

Thanks my love :)

I can see it both ways. I think that what you said are viable. I use YouTube Red, so I'll talk about why I like it.

The thing I like most about YouTube Red is the service for downloading videos to your phone, and that they get to play in the background. Granted, background play is a feature for some other apps, but YouTube has been running at a loss for a long time, and hasn't made much profit so I see where they'd make it paid. I think that using adblock is unethical because the creators on YouTube currently don't get paid much from ads, and most of them are dumb and only rely on ads for money, and they don't make a business. But, YouTube should find more ways of making money, as it would be best if there were never ads in the first place, but that will be very, VERY tricky.

I totally agree, they should find way more ways than just ads to monetise the platform. Thanks for stopping by!

No problem!

dtube all the way babyyyyyyyyy!!!! :D

Winny out...for now ;)

yes indeed :)

It may be fair to say that YouTube is distancing itself from its foundation, the creators. Creators are now having to comply with new rules and we are flagged often for not being advertiser-friendly. While at the last YouTube Creator day in August 2017 they made it perfectly clear that they wanted to remake themselves and those participating would have to comply with their new "Family Friendly Environment".

YouTube, like other IP's and or businesses, know that the internet is the future for disseminating information, entertainment, and news. They not only want to be the next Netflix or Hulu, they want to be the next cable and or television network.

This means that those pesky amateurs (creators) will have to step up and start making "worthy" content to be on their platform. It used to be all about the creators, now its all about the business of YouTube.

I spoke to Roberto Blake when I was at the Creator Day and he essentially said the YouTube Big Wigs told the Coders to clean up youtube and thus the "Algorithm" was born. The Big Wigs don't care about the creators, they care about YouTube's viability to compete in the TV/Cable/Streaming market.

It is very clear that they don't care about the creators and that's so unfortunate. But I guess it's a great opportunity for the Steem blockchain and for DTube to succeed

What you said is all true.. But also Netflix have started being something really different... do you remember when Netflix was a blockbuster type service. So I guess the youtube having that option is nothing wrong. Now they are trying to implement a patreon type of thing to the creators there. I guess evolution is needed sometimes. Although as you said youtube is a mess right now and they just need to get their shit together lol

They really do lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65