You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Explosion Week 22 Entry - Original Guitar and Voice Piece

in #dtube7 years ago

I dig it. I'll admit I'm not the most musically inclined dude, but I like how reflective the song is of the impulse to create but also the struggle and tendency towards self defeat that the creator has. Along with that, I like how the chords begin with slow and single notes that start off as somewhat discordant, matching the trepidation the creator has, before becoming more in tune and producing a stronger melody that flows as the creator's own thoughts become more clear.

Sort:  

Thanks, I appreciate the depth of your impression! I'm using some pretty out there harmony - the bassline in this piece often moves in and out of the "main" key (which itself is heavily subject to fluctuation), which is a device that composers and music theorists refer to as "bitonality" or "polytonality." Stravinsky's Rite of Spring is one of the first pieces that utilized this to a heavy extent, and for a more modern example, also on my instrument, Allan Holdsworth perfected an implementation of polytonal harmony in a jazz/improvisation context.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45