Steffan Rundquist-Chirimoya

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Filmed in Stockholm Sweden
Rodado en Estocholmo Suecia
May 2019
Guitars: Goranga, Rootquist and Steff.
Music and lyrics: Steffan Rundquist

(interview from the magazine Glitter & Stilettos)
Fun Artist Facts
One snack you can’t do without: Dates, figgs, dried mango, trail mix with peanuts. I love healthy vegetarian snacks, I have been vegetarian for about 25 years now. Healthy snacks are amazing, the more snacks you eat the healthier you get.

Day or Night: Day!

Why? When I grew up as a teenager in Sweden I slept all day and stayed awake all night, now I try to get at least some sunlight everyday. I need it to stay positive.

What is in your iPod right now: “Get up and do it!” (audio book from Beechy and Josephine Colclough), General knas (Swedish Reggae), Damian Marley (Reggae), Steel Pulse (Reggae), Indochine (French pop band), Macaco (The band of my brother Tomas “Tirtha” Rundquist)

Greatest Inspiration: Bob Marley, Hanoi Rocks, Morrissey, U2

Empowering Music, Global Influence

There are few musicians that capture the global essence of humanity, expressing influential stories that evoke change within the world around them. The truth is that music, as a tool is so much larger than what appeals to the ear. Music itself, should appeal to the soul, it should rouse and inspire but also entertain. Singer, Songwriter, and Musician Steffan Rundquist seems to have this figured out with the release of his reggae-inspired song “Libertad Freedom” featuring Tomas “Tirtha” Rundquist from his EP ‘Aggressive Pacifist’.

Libertad Freedom, influenced by Steffan and his brother Tomas’ experiences while living in Guatemala and Mexico emanates a soft Latin influence as Steffan croons out a hybrid of Spanish and English verses. While not only does the song entertain with infectious harmonies and melodious guitars, it tells a powerful story of deliverance.

We connected with Steffan Rundquist for an exclusive look into the man behind this revolutionary music, check out our exclusive interview below…

Steffan, your music is definitely seems to have more meaning than much of what is out there today. Where does that come from?

I started traveling seriously all over europe when I was 16 years old. There was this cheap amazing Inter-rail ticket to travel all over europe for 30 days. Cruising through Europe, playing in the streets and sleeping on the trains. I traveled to South Africa 1981 with my father, who was a Captain in the merchant marine. While they were unloading the ship I spent a week checking out Capetown. Apartheid totally blew my mind; completely crazy- that they were separating people because of the color of their skin. Park benches, trains, busses, beaches etc. When I was in Capetown I read in a newspaper that two young boys had been singing some protest songs with an acoustic guitar at their school and they were immediately sentenced to many years in jail. I was confused and in some kind of a shock. A seed started growing inside me.., years later i realized that i was actually there, witnessing this apartheid madness. I have seen a lot of injustice on my journeys. Now, I write songs about injustice, vegetarianism, spirituality and love- most of my songs are still love songs.

Your track “Libertad freedom”has a very distinct reggae/Latin feel, what made you decide to use those types of rhythms for this particular track?

It is a reggae song inspired on the time me and my brother lived in Guatemala in the early 90s. Super beautiful, clever, down to earth guitar melodies from my brother Tomas “Tirtha” Rundquist. The lyrics are spiritual, a mix of Spanish and English- about how I try to live my life, focused on listening carefully to my heart, being free and healthy.

Do you feel that it is most important for music to be used as entertainment or to serve a specific purpose?

We are all different and we have different dreams and goals, for the moment I try to use my music to make a positive change in the world. I had bad experiences working with commercial minded people and companies that were only interested in money. And because I am a street person I always end up broke and worn out around people like that. I know that one person can make a positive difference in this world. I get empowered by Bob Marleys music. It’s not the thought that counts it’s what you do!

What would you say has been your greatest achievement in your career?

My old band Undrop. Me, my brother Tomas “Tirtha” Rundquist and Antonio Crespo, we sat one night in Mombeltran (a small spanish village up in the Gredos mountains close to Madrid). We made a plan that in 6 months we would top the music-charts in spain. Our plan was especially crazy because we were really poor at the time and we were playing in streets and bars for very little money. But in some miraculous way we made it to number one within 6 months! Amazing! We released an album “The Crossing”. Thanks to our positive attitude everybody wanted to work with us, and some songs on the album were used in television commercials and “boom!”, we were number one on the charts with a song called “Train”and after that more of our songs climbed the charts. We immediately played 125 big concerts in a row and one of the months that year we played 29 concerts in 31 days.

Where does Steffan Runquist see himself 5 years from now?

I feel really good when I travel, so for sure I am on the road touring. I would love to play some big festivals around the world.

If someone were to ask what it took to accomplish a dream of becoming an artist, what 5 things would you list?

  1. Set up a realistic goal. Remember that time is the only non-renewable resource we have- so be careful for “analysis paralysis”. It’s better to get your stuff out even if it’s not perfect.

  2. Create your own inspiration, don’t sit around waiting for other people to inspire you.

  3. Stay fit and healthy, avoid alcohol and other drugs.

  4. Try to communicate with people everyday.

  5. Study other artists. Try to live and breathe like an artist.

Is there anything new upcoming that your fans need to be in the know about?

You have a pretty full catalog, where can fans find more of your music and how can they spread the word?

You can get my latest music here for free: https://soundcloud.com/steffan-rundquist

Thanks so much Steffan for taking the time to speak with the girls here at Glitter & Stilettos, are there any last thoughts that you would like to share?

Peace, love and vegan food.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi steffan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you!❤️

Hi @steffan, creative and good video you made there. I was reading through your article and then this draw my attention:

I am working on my new EP at the moment; Release date: 1 march 2015

Is this an error or just an "older" text? In case you already produced it I would be happy if you share it with us! You doing cool work, keep it up buddy.
Cheers,
Max

Yes! Thank you mcnestler!😘I thought I had to post something together with the video so I took an old interview from a magazine that I liked.
I am going to see if I can change it. Thank you again🎵

Quite a unique video I must say, other than that is your Attitude - Power. Good vibes to you:)

Hello Vibesforlife! Thank you so much for your good vibe🌞A big hug from Stockholm Sweden.

Congratulations @steffan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66