You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is The Minimum Income In Dollars To Survive In Your Town?

in #dtube5 years ago

Ah, glad you mentioned me in the post or I would have missed this awesome video! Lovely to see some of the shots of 'our' day last Friday <3

I think 1500$ is about right for my city Rotterdam as well. Maybe a little less if I scraped a bit off the food, but not much.

I could find a cheaper house though, but after a certain income level in the Netherlands you can be certain rent is never cheaper then 'social housing' which is about 680 euros. Buying can be cheaper because the interest rates are good and if you bought something for 150k (possible if you don't care about how it is maintained by previous owners and location) you'd have even lower costs and since paying off your house counts as 'saving up' as well I could get by with saving less money per month - ending up with more 'free to spend' euros. I might be able to live for 500 euros a month, money can be done cheaply, health insurance is a given... So maybe 1000 euros a month?

Interesting topic, going to read input from others now as well :-) Might be living somewhere else real soon if I could get by with 500 euros a month :D

Sort:  

Well social housing in little fillages are like 300 for a whole house. You get some back if you don't earn much the deal is that you can live from 700 euro social allowance. You get sports etc for free you get free food also for the whole family but it's not really good food voedselbank. The utillitybill would be like 60 dollar a month. Internet 30 dollar. Here in the heague Holland you can get also special housing it's small but cheap for the people who lost everything and mostly internet and power is included. It will cost you like 300.

Posted using Partiko Android

...special housing it's small but cheap for the people who lost everything and mostly internet and power is included.

That's amazing!!

I think the UK are very similar in cost and many things. Your social structure is a little better than here though.

I too am researching perhaps upping and moving somewhere less pricey, but I've been trapped by that London web we talked about :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60828.34
ETH 2917.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38