Results from cleaning crystals with acid

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


When I find rocks I usually soak them in water for a few days and work them over with a brush real well. Though sometimes more is needed to clean off the iron stains and other dirt really set in to the corners of the crystals.

I use Barkeepers best friend, a cleaning product containing oxalic acid. A more mild acid and does not off gas like stronger forms. I soaked these crystals in an old pickle jar, kept it by the furnace to keep it warm. As acid works better when warmed so I tried to keep it above 70F during the few days they soaked.

Some of the rocks still had some orange stains, thinking thats iron stuck inside the crystal so it cannot be cleaned off by the acid.

If the video has trouble playing, please use my IPFS Gateway instead of D.tube's by following this link


Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

Rockin Steemians

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#shadowphoto by @melinda010100

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

#GTWCA (Crypto Price Analysis) by @gandalfthewhite


PlatformURL/Username
Steemhttps://steempeak.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://main.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
DiscordSolominer#4248
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Nothing makes #fridaysrock more than cleaning your rocks! Great photo, video, and insight!

Dtube only works for me in Chrome. Same for you?

@snowyknight ah true.. it sure is. Dtube works on both Chrome and Firefox for me. Though sometimes the videos dont get past buffering.. if that happens to you with my videos use my alternative link at the end of my description.

Posted using Partiko Android

Video I looked, thank you!
But I know English very badly ...

@ludmila.kyriakou oh cool, well with rocks and nature language is pretty universal so no worries. I think your English is just fine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Is my English excellent? :-)))
Thank you for your compliment, this is thanks to the computer translator with whom I read and write :-)))
But still I am pleased by your compliment!

hah yeah maybe the translator is working good. Im impressed your using translation but honestly the technology has gotten real good int he last few years.

Thank you very much!
Agree with you!
The good news is that I learned a lot of new words using a translator.
I even check the translation of the computer and fix it :-))))))

@ludmila.kyriakou nice, its good your learning from it.. maybe one day you wont even need the translator.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ooo!
I would like this very much!
I like English, it's beautiful!

Great looking rocks, it’s quite a lot of work cleaning them but worth it in the end.

Posted using Partiko iOS

@c0ff33a thanks, sure is.. Getting them out of the ground is only half the work.. Gotta clean up those rocks real good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

@shadeserver glad to be on, thanks much.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have to watch it..really interested!
Just saw this on Pimp Your Post Thursday!
#pypt

@dexpartacus cool, yeah it was a unique experience for sure. thanks for checking it out through #pypt

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi dexpartacus the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Shadows was right on PYPT. How do you find the time? You must be very curious. I dont think I know too many people who like to experiment with acids

@blind-spot Yeah I am very curious and I go down rabbit holes alot and find new things to try out. I am glad I have followers that enjoy seeing what I make and do. Brings a great feeling of purpose and thankful for everyones support. It just pushes me further.

As for the acids, I googled how to clean iron stains off rocks. And it was a suggested method. Since water and brushes was not cutting it I had to use some chemicals.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi blind-spot the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Saved for later watching... Saw this on #pypt

@ph1102 sweet, hope you enjoy it. And nice, #pypt rocks.

Posted using Partiko Android

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi ph1102 the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

I was not aware that the Barkeepers product had oxalic acid in it. That is a great tip, and maybe some of my quartz rocks will be cleaner! Thanks for mentioning this in PYPT, definitely! That is a lovely little crystal in the pic, and I like the rainbow colors visible in that larger face! 😃

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi thekittygirl the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75