Watching Mason Bees enter and exit their home and discussing their habits

in #dtube5 years ago


In early spring some bees started showing up on my property, this is a normal occurrence for me as I have built homes for them to lay their eggs in and repopulate the area. As you can see in the video they are quite excited about their homes and many are inside and you can barely see them, just their antenna sticking out. I discuss in the video their life cycle, habits and how they compare to other insects that use mud for their homes.

I used a Sigma 300mm lens to get some close ups, and it was the afternoon once the air warmed up outside.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

great video but don't miss with them or they will attack you lol 😂 😂

@cityofstars luckily these solitary bees do not attack. I've been around dozens at a time and right next to them and they dont seem my mind my presence. Hah not the same with honey bees and their hives, they would for sure sting me.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol good

que bello es la naturaleza y uno estar unido a ella

@damia it sure is beautiful and I agree uniting myself with it seems to be the natural and right way to go.

Posted using Partiko Android

@solominer Awesome, I wish I had bees like these.

@myjob build some homes and within a few years you may have some move in.

Posted using Partiko Android

@solominer I will try it, I hope I have them.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97