You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Benefits of DTube You Need To Know

in #dtube6 years ago

I think you made some very good points, but I have one question, and that is, do you think that some are going to take advantage of the non-censorship policy and try to use the platform disguising their free speech with no censorship with hate speech?

Sort:  

You raise a very good question. I think you will probably see some using what others might call so-called "hate speech." I think the best way to curtail any abusive and negative speech is more free speech. We can't go down the road of declaring one type of speech (usually those that go against what the originating party defines as "hate") unlawful. Historically this leads to authoritarian regimes. Think of the Soviet Union and what they did with those who used the "wrong" speech.

I've heard speech that I would consider hateful. I like the way that we can either ignore it or choose to show the illogic that is there.

Thank you very much for your comment, @skiponline. I really appreciate you coming over to visit.

The other thing is, I like to know where people really stand. If they have hate in their heart, better to know it than not. Ignorance is not really bliss. Thanks Terry.

You know, I had not thought of that @evernoticethat, but you raise an exceptionally good point. We want to know where people stand. This way can formulate the arguments and the ideas to help those who (hopefully only temporarily) embrace hateful speech will change. Hey, we all change. It happens best when ideas and thoughts are allowed to be expressed and the addressed in a peaceful, non-violent way.

Thanx for sharing that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54