You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life Behind China's Great FIREWALL

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

I can put up with a lot while living in China, but I have to be honest: this issue does get on my nerves sometimes.

Its a constant game of cat and mouse.

There are still many ways to get around the GFW though.

China Mobile and China telecom are the two major ISPs. Almost every other ISP piggybacks on China telecom.

Deep packet inspection is in full effect, keywords are monitored, and all internet traffic is logged.

I have a 100M fiber line, which slows to dialup speeds during peak times.

Its quite ridiculous, in some ways it was better 10 years ago, everything was slow, yet still usable if you had patience.

Sort:  

These days I've been stuck. VPN hasn't been working for a few days but I guess they did something at the beginning of the Chinese New Year.

If its important, always have a backup plan, any service can be blocked, or go down at any time.

I have switched between dozens of services over the years, none of them are perfect.

What has kept you in Mainland China for so long? Do you think a place like Taiwan would suit you better?

Posted using Partiko Android

Taiwan, seems to be very similar to Japan, high cost of living, yet the income is just enough to get by.

China has relatively low cost of living for me, although food prices are getting crazy.

As much as I complain about China, much has improved, except the internet.

Eventually the gravy train will end, its just a question of when?

Taiwan's cost of living is actually very affordable. Definitely lower than Japan's. I am pretty sure it is lower than Shanghai's.

Check it out if you want. If you are employed there for 5 years, you can get permanent residence. However, the economy and development isn't a booming as the mainland. Sometimes, the chaos of Mainland China is what keeps us here.

Having worked for Taiwanese based companies, I'm not really a fan of working there. Japanese companies aren't all that great in my experience either.

Although the opportunities in China, especially for small business owners, are in serious decline.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28