You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Steem Sister Show - Episode 64 // New Years Resolutions

in #dtube6 years ago

I gave up on resolutions a while ago. But what I do instead is give myself permission to do whatever I want, but have very loose goals, but see where in my life I have improved since the end of the year, last year.

For example, in 2016 I was flat broke, unemployed and overweight. So I had to start again from scratch.
My focus for 2017 was then fitness and making myself as employable as possible. For 2018 my focus was on making sure I was never broke again (multiple savings accounts, automatic regular transfers, etc).

This year, I have accomplished quite a bit. Picking up Steem again in April and working towards becoming a Minnow (definitely Dolphin next year), working more on DTube, flying to Sydney for the Team Australia Christmas Party, getting to the gold league in Steem Monsters (getting affiliate payments for that too) it's really starting to snowball upwards.

I am not sure what 2019 will bring, but I am definitely going to be very, very busy.

Sort:  

Wow so much has changed in just a few years! Sounds like your approach has a nice pace to it, which helps it be more sustainable. Sounds like 2019 is shaping up to be an awesome year for you!

Resolutions are external restrictions that last, what, a week tops?
Like how long is anyone going to go without chocolate?
Gyms are full on January 2nd, but empty by February.

So, it's easier to do what you are going to do anyway, but make smaller realistic changes. Rather than diet, I learned about calories and listened to dietitians.
I eat more veggies now, but still occasionally eat meat and chocolate.

Rather than join a gym, I made sure I went for a walk every day and bought my own dumbells and used them every so often.

The 'all or nothing' approach relies on willpower and that doesn't work for me long term.

2019 should be great for both of us.
You'll raise your profile in Austin, Texas (I'd need to raise a lot of liquid Steem over the next few months for that to happen, but we'll see).

Plus the Team Australia Christmas Party will be in Adelaide this year too.

Like Steem Power, small increments really do add up. Never power down.
:D

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47