The Artist (2011) - Short Film Shot on Real 16mm Film

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


The Artist is a short film designed to capture the emotions involved in creation. The work of an artist is stressful, exhausting, and often full of disappointment and self-loathing. I know when I look at my own work in progress it's common for me to thin, "Well this is absolute garbage."

Don't be alarmed if you can't hear any sound. There isn't any. It's a completely silent film.

The Artist is the first film I ever shot on actual film.

Truth be told, it's probably my first serious film too.

This was my first assignment when I was studying filmmaking at Ryerson University in Toronto, Ontario. This film has never been released publicly because I never had a digital copy... until now. The movie was shot on film and physically edited by cutting and splicing the shots together. Old school.

I'll grant that this digital version wasn't created using the best available methods. I simply shot it with a camcorder while projecting it onto a wall. The best method would be to do a digital scan of the negative. But I'm poor, and film scans are expensive.

I hope you enjoy this little 45 second short. I enjoyed making it.

~Seth


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)
Sort:  

Congratulations @sethlinson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sethlinson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14