MOVING HOUSE FROM YOUTUBE TO DTUBE & CRYING OUT FOR HELP WITH DTube!!!!!!!!!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

DTube Vs YouTube.jpg

The best thing about Steemit and Dtube is that unlike YouTube, we are able to communicate with the actual people who develop and create these wonderful platforms. If we have a problem with YouTube, it's just tough luck and you're unlikely to get any response whatsoever. I am writing this blog post to be really honest about my current situation; Im really struggling to succeed in my new job, as a professional Dtuber.

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 17.41.09.png

I keep falling at the very first hurdle; uploading the bloomin' videos! It has got beyond a little frustrating, and is now kinda heart breaking as I see everyone else seems to be uploading their content ok. What am I doing wrong? What should I be doing right?!

YOUTUBE Vs DTUBE.jpg

I have done all the hard work in the video edit, and exported the file in so many different formats that I've lost track of what format seemed to work. Feel free to visit my Dtube Channel and see if you can make my videos play!?! The only one that seems successful is “Dtube, Hello, I am SebCam” from almost 2 MONTHS AGO?!

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 17.48.54.png

On a quick side note, I gotta say that it's way cool that the new URL Address is so short and sweet, literally this short https://d.tube

D.Tube

DTube Logo BLACK.png

WOW, THAT IS AMAZIN'!!! :D Unfortunate that my experience has been one day of headaches and backaches hunched over the laptop, soon stretches into a week without uploading. Then two weeks pass by, maybe a whole month or TWO will pass by, and I get more and more upset that I am missing out on this awesome video revolution!

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 18.03.20.png

While I don't want to bother the busy @heimindanger with my trivial questions, I have to cry out for help to who-ever maybe listening, as this has gone beyond frustrating, and is now quite painful. Included here, screenshots of my failures...

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 01.07.37.png

A Dtuber who cannot upload videos, is a NoTuber! : (

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 17.50.58.png

Most my videos are saved in HD Quicktime .mov format. When this failed me, I tried making smaller file sizes, but the video is not playing back. So I thought maybe shorter videos will have more success? I see other people uploading videos almost an hour long?! Ahhhhhhh....!!!!!

I thought .mp4 would be more readily accepted? Nope. I began to get error messages saying “You have not uploaded a video” as if it's not recognizing the file. I have some fancy video software convertor which will make every video type imaginable, for every device out there, surely something here works for DTube?!

Screen shot 2017-10-27 at 17.57.12.png

help-520x437.jpg

Rather than pull my hair out, feeling all alone in my battle of the Tubes, I am crying out for someone to rescue me!!! Nope, Im beyond crying, I am now screaming out for advice on this. Pleeeeeeeaase help? What file type is the best for Dtube????

Image Above
Image 1


Step 1. Do what u LOVE. Do what EXCITES you.
Step 2. Share with Steemit to monetize Dream$.
Step 3. Remember BOREDOM is the Enemy...
(NOT some abstract "failure")

SEBCAM PROFILE STARRING.png

Starring @SebCam, as himself.
LIVE (every now & then)

FOLLOW my Steemit Friends:

@samstonehill, @kenistyles @iamjamie, @ned, @firepower, @heimindanger, @xaero1, @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @blueorgy, @clayop, @curie, @followbtcnews, @furion, @fyrst-witness, @good-karma, @gtg, @jerrybanfield, @klye, @pfunk, @pharesim, @someguy123, @teamsteem, @themarkymark, @timcliff, @dannyshine, @jockey, @chron, @tedcarr, @acidyo, @waykiwayki.

Sort:  

Do not be discouraged. I am in regular communication with @heimindanger and was taking the new system for a test run just prior to public release with the intention of finding bugs. And many of the things you describe, I also saw.

It is largely to do with internet speed & the IPFS system- which is also still in development. Like you, some of my videos also appear not to play... but if you wait long enough, suddenly they kick in!

He suggested using Chrome as the most efficient browser for DTube currently. Now that it is using torrent as well as IPFS. Apparently Chrome integrates better with the torrent side of things.

And now that he is not working alone anymore, things will progress faster on the development side ;)

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 06.58.15.png

If I am understanding this correctly I think it will help to click on the magnet link and share your film through the torrent option.

Screen Shot 2017-10-28 at 07.13.56.png

Mine defaults to Vuze. The more people who seed it the less the IPFS system will be needed. But again, it all comes back to having decent internet speeds.

In response to @j3dy, yes downsizing the file to 720 will help with the speed a bit, but ultimately it should be possible to upload any size you like. Am currently using 1080, H.264 codec for my stuff and it is working fine.

We must keep in mind that it is still very early days for DTube. And there are many tweaks going on right now.

Loving the new look though ;)

Thaaaanks for the detailed response dudes! I shall persevere today, using silver laptop, Chrome & pushing Magnets etc! :D

I was running through the same hurdles, basically it's still a long way off being workable, I think there were some limitations from the IPFS and whatnot, basically 720p and 30fps .. mp4 Is what I read last but I haven't tested it..

Ahhhhh... Maybe Im going toooo big with HD, and should downsize to 720p. Thankkkks!

yeah tell me how it goes, I kind of need some help with the reencoding :D I don't really want to use AE for anything..

Hi sebcam, I can't help much, but I have seen that if uploaded in plain mp4 format that this works, failing that use youtube to upload your video, don't make it public and use the link in the browser! copy and paste into your post and it seems to work fine, well it did for me! I hope this helps, regards Gez.....

They said during SteemFest that DTube will be back and better than ever with the next update in a couple of weeks. I hope so, but who knows. :)

I have faith in 'em. I've made more $$'s on Steemit/Dtube in week than in years on YouTube anyway, and feels much less restrictive here! Thanks for the info! Wishing I coulda made it to SteemFest, flights got more & more expensive, I'd be willing to sleep on the beach or whatever, but eventually had to admit "staying home" was safest option. Enjoy!

I didn't go to steemfest either. But luckily they are livestreaming everything on youtube. I made more money my first day on Steem than I did on YouTube last year. Trying to replicate that on a regular basis, but thats not happening as often. :)

Ahaaa-haaa... Steemfest via YouTube, sneaky! Yeah, Im not certain there are any reliable pattern$ to replicate, more about doing what you love, which is doing what comes easy & effortless & enjoyable, that way; you'll keeping doing it. The only pattern I see to making more, is posting more. Very simple equation:

Those who post little, make little. Those who post more, make more. So do whatcha love....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84