Will DTube take over YouTube? My (different) opinion

in #dtube7 years ago

Hello and thanks for reading my article.
I have seen many posts here on Steem about how DTube will take over YouTube. In this (not too long) article I want to explain why I think that this probably is not going to happen in the near future.

And before you start writing hateful comments (even though the community here is really friendly, which I am enjoying): No. I’m not criticizing DTube itself. I actually think that it is one of the best video sharing platforms. If they are tweaking their player which I personally don’t like, DTube will – at least for me – be the best platform for video sharing.

However, the main reason it will take DTube some time until it can be a real competitor for YouTube is being forgotten by many users here:
The other users. I am mainly talking about the Creators. If they don’t decide to use DTube, most “normal” users won’t do it, too. Up till now I have seen no creator switching from YouTube to DTube and exactly one creator using both YouTube and DTube(@sempervideo; a German YouTuber and now also DTuber).

Another reason is that YouTube has established its business over years and they are going to give their best so that DTube doesn’t get too famous. This means that you have to “inform the people”, too. You have to tell them about the new video platform you like and that they should try it. This is how you - reading this article - can help DTube and Steem spreading and becoming more popular.

Now, this is my conclusion: Yes. I actually think that DTube definitely has potential of taking over YouTube or at least being a really good alternative. But I also think that the process of “taking over” or “becoming an alternative” will take a long time.
logofertig.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40