Guinea Fowl at Monateng

in #dtube6 years ago


My wife and I were on a weekend away at Monateng just North of Pretoria. Monateng is a lodge situated next to a large game farm. While I was busy to braai some meat for us this small family of Guinea Fowl made a surprise entrance. They announced their appearance with quite a bit of noise!! Guinea Fowl is endemic to Africa.

Guinea Fowl eat seeds and insects, and nest on the ground, they are social birds and typically live in small family groups!!

According to Wikipedia their meat is leaner than chicken, but packs more protein than both chicken and turkey!!

You can read more about Guinea Fowl by following the link.

I took the video with my iPhone at Monateng just North of Pretoria in South Africa.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@rynow,
Once I have seen them in my country! At a temple! I don't know how they found them! They nested on ground, I didn't know that before! Nice video!

Cheers~

Thank you.

A very nice visit ... I did not know that the guineas hens were original from Africa, good data!

Thank you for the nice comment.

Beauty with nature!

Posted using Partiko Android

This bird is just lovely. What sound do they make?

I don't know what you call the sound, but you can hear it in the video.

This made me to remember when i rear fowl but mine was the hen fowl, it was hell. Some were stolen, some were infected with infections which lead to their death while i was forced to kill some

That was not a nice experience for you.

Yea. You can say that again

the animals are fabulous ... Go abundance and beauty.

family of guinea fowls look very beautiful. I think you enjoy this.

I did enjoy them!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41