BeerSaturday: Home Brew!!

in #dtube5 years ago


BeerSaturday: Home Brew!!

IMG-3129.jpg
Around 7 weeks ago, I decided it was time for another home brew!!. Above you can see my grains and hops!! I wanted to make a bit of a more hoppy beer, thus decided to add three different types of hops.
IMG-3133.jpg
I used a 50l urn to do my mash. (Mashing is where the starch in the grain is turned into sugar) I heated up 25l of water to 67 degrees Celcius and soaked my grains in it for 90 minutes. On the photo below, you can see my grains in the grain bag, hanging in the water.
IMG-3137.jpg

After the mash was finished, I heated up the water to boiling point and added the Nugget hops 15 minutes into the boil. At 45 minutes, I added the Cascade and Amarillo hops. (In all cases, I just used half of the hops in each packet) In the photo below, you can see the hops pellets.


IMG-3139.jpg

While my brew was going on, I could even write my Daily Scripture post for the day.
IMG-3140.jpg
After the boiling is done, the wort has to be cooled down and then put into the fermentation bucket, where the yeast is added. I used Mangrove Jack's M44 yeast.
IMG-3142.jpg
I left the brew to ferment for 3 weeks, after which it was time to bottle the beer.
20190907-111003.jpg
After 3 weeks in the bottle, the beer went into the fridge and then it was time to taste the beer after a very long wait!!
20191002-191936.jpg
The beer poured with a nice hazy golden color, with a very nice white head on top of it!!
20191002-192018.jpg
Just look at that great fluffy white head.
20191002-192021.jpg
This beer did not just looked amazing, it also tasted great, it has a nice hoppy taste (Although I could have added some more hops), with a slight bitterness. I calculated the alcohol content to be around 6%, which is a very good number for a home brew!! Everybody who has tasted this beer liked it - thus I am very happy with the result!!

I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed writing it.

All the photos, were taken by me, with my iPhone and Samsung phone, at my home, in Pretoria, South Africa.

signature](https://steemit.com/created/teamsouthafrica) Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@rynow,
Grains means rice? I think you are using Kakulu (Red) Rice! So, we can brew our own beer at home! But I don't know where to find hops in my country :(
$trdo

Cheers~

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @rynow!
@rynow will receive 6.48428400 TRDO & @theguruasia will get 4.32285600 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I did not use rice, but I believe you will be able to use rice as well. I used barley.

Upvoted 👌

Thank you. Here is a nice !BEER for you.

The !BEER looks good, I just miss the name of the beer :)😁

I did not give it a name - bad of me!! Here is a nice !BEER for you.



Hey @seckorama, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Its really nice hazy golden color and white head on top color. Good job

This one really came out good, I am very happy with the result!! Here is a nice !BEER for you.



Hey @rynow, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Thank you.

Interesting post and amazing colour, thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much for the nice comment, here is a nice !BEER for you.

Thank you very much
For the nice comment, here is
A nice !BEER for you.

                 - rynow


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hey @haikubot you funny guy, here is a !BEER for you to say



Hey @haikubot, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 6 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.com



Hey @almi, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

For beer lovers that is something to enjoy chill and relax :D

Yes, and it came out very good!! Here is a nice !BEER for you!!



Hey @blazing, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Whoooot - this looks great and it will be one of my next adventures!

Sorting out where at the house I might do all this and reading already a few books about the best way to do homebrewing.

I will post this for sure...

I am looking forward to see your own !BEER, you can also google a lot on home brewing!!
It is a real nice thing to do.



Hey @detlev, here is a little bit of BEER for you. Enjoy it!

There is something very satisfying about drinking beer you have made yourself, nice to see you using the brew in a bag method.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it is very nice to drink your home brew, and to give to friends and see their reaction. I love the brew in the bag method, to me you can experiment a lot with this method, and it is all your own ideas!!

Congratulations @rynow, your post successfully recieved 6.484284 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@theguruasia : 4.322856 TRDO


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98