Why is DTube Necessary and Why Should I Use it in Addition to Steemit?

in #dtube7 years ago

dtube.png


So I just discovered DTube and it's a cool site. I watched an interview with the creator and he seems like an awesome guy. What I really like about him is how he seems very grounded and realistic about what he built. What I mean by that is he doesn't act like DTube is going to overtake Youtube next week and in the interview he kind of stepped in and clarified when the interviewer made assertions which were maybe a bit over optimistic for lack of a better word.

Anyhow I'm trying to wrap my head around how something like DTube or Steepshot interacts with Steemit and how as well as why I should use it?

So in the case of DTube, when I upload a video it also gets posted to my Steemit blog. Why should I use it as opposed to just posting it directly on Steemit? I guess at the very least it's not hosted by Youtube which I realize is a big plus to people but what other advantage is there to me using DTube?

A while back when I first got on Steemit I tried out another Instagram like Steemit app or program called Steepshot which was for posting pictures on Steemit. While it was kind of cool to have an app, I just didn't see what benefit it had to me as opposed to posting the photo on Steemit, especially since Steepshot seemed to be kind of glitchy with posting tags so I'd wind up having to go back to Steemit anyways.

Anyhow, I'm supportive of the project but would like someone to explain to me why I should post my videos to DTube as opposed to directly on Steemit. I also had kind of an etiquete question. Should I go ahead and repost past videos I've always posted on Steemit onto DTube? While they aren't on DTube yet it will in a sense create a duplicate post on my Steemit blog.

Sort:  

I think the DTube situation is huge for sure and here is where we will really see something like this take off. Once DTube is able to register new users to the STEEM block chain and people have their wallet access on there and everything there will be applications like this where people start using it and have no clue eventually what STEEMIT is. Kind of like how people who are using Android don't know that is Linux. One of the other apps like STEEPSHOT, Zappl, or DTube might end up taking the STEEM blockchain into mainstream. But who knows.

Hey thanks for the comment. Had asked you a question in my other response but this pretty much asnwered it. Thanks again

While I also have a Youtube channel, I have posted some of that same content on Steemit, very easily I might add. I just don't see why I would need additional intervention (third party) that does not increase my earnings. Now if DTube implements its own search engine and things are well categorized, it will work fine as a library. And unless it becomes a income generator, I don't see making the additional effort. I will continue to post my videos directly to Steemit. Besides, there seems to be some real concern about storage capacity or bandwith or something that keeps things moving real slow on DTube.

hey @retiredinsamar I am trying to wrap my head around the same thing. While it looks like a well built project, why am I going to use 2 seperate sites when I could use one?

I know to some people who hate Youtube you can host videos at DTube but not Steemit so that's one perk but at the end of the day Youtube doesn't really take down content, they just don't allow certain types to be monetized so I don't really see any advantage there.

I tried Steepshot a while back and I had a similar complaint, why would I use it as opposed to just steemit?

One advantage I can see which you alluded to is maybe better organization of content and better search functionality as I think currently that is a huge weakness of Steemit.

Another benefit I think is that its ONLY video content. Say I'm in the mood to consume content via video and not read and not see a million photo challenge posts. I can go to DTube and only see videos and skip text and photo posts.

DTube could be absolutely huge. It reminds me of a young youtube. This is the sort of thing Steemit needs, this is what will allow Steemit to takeover,

It does look promising. I love the user interface, still some bugs to work out but again it's super young. I already think it's better than vidme which is a few years old and still incredibly buggy

Yeah I kinda checked out DTube the other day. The first video I tried to watch didn't load :(

I will give it another go and check it out more soon.

We could discuss this here: https://www.reddit.com/r/dtube/

It would be better organized because of the structure of reddit.

Hello friend, good post, we invite you to participate in our first contest @Newlevelsteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69