Today's Solar Eclipse | You Could Have Made a Killing Selling Eclipse Glasses on eBay

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)

Watch Today's Solar Eclipse | You Could Have Made a Killing Selling Eclipse Glasses on eBay video on DTube


Hey guys, today is the Great American Solar Eclipse of 2017. Solar eclipses are pretty rare and there's a lot of hype surrounding this one since it's a total solar eclipse and it's viewable from North America which hasn't happenned since 1918 or there abouts.

I remember earlier this summer walking into a 711 and seeing Solar Eclipse glasses on the counter but didn't think much of it. As we've gotten closer to today there's been more and more buildup to the eclipse. I heard some news stories yesterday that some school districts had forgotten to order eclipse glasses and were scrambling to get them. Apparently all the 711's in my area are sold out as well.

Now I knew there would be big profits in this since the glasses are just pieces of cardboard essentially so I was curious what you could buy them for and what they were selling for.

I found Solar Eclipse Glasses on DHGate for as little as 0.09 cents and it seems average sales price on eBay is about $10 to $15 per pair. Thta's a pretty nice profit margin there.

I decided to dig into Terapeak and see how well they were actually selling and man are they selling fantastic. Just in the past week over 2.5 Million worth of eclipse glasses were sold with a 70% sell through rating which is pretty impressive. That means for every 100 pairs that get listed 70 end in a successful sale.

Anyhow, I'm really kicking myself for missing out on this opportunity. Curious if any of you guys took advantage and either sold eclipse glasses or maybe Amazon Merch shirts about the eclipse?

If so drop a comment and let me know how you did.

Sort:  

Yeah I wasn't expecting so much hype for this event and missed a good opportunity to make money on merch...
Some people are making 5 figures per week selling eclipse shirts. That's crazy.

Dude, people are going ape shit in SoCal for these glasses!

I'm shocked to see how much a .12 cent pair of glasses can sell for. I was kinda kicking myself remember a couple months back seeing them at 711 and thinking oh thats neat but the august was so far off was like ill look into it later.

hahahah, yeah well get this.

I had a telescope with this sweet cell phone attachment to the lens to take pictures. So I thought this was going to be PERFECT to view the eclipse. Well after about 10 mins of focusing on the sun I see the picture go crazy on my phone.

Take it off the telescope and see that the lens cover has been burned and rendered my camera useless... Brand new S8... ugh

Oh wow that sucks. I was using my phone as kind of a viewfinder to look at the sun since I didn't have glasses. Hope I didn't goof up my camera.

Gave you a 100% upvote, there's 11 cents towards a new phone lol. Sorry to hear about that buddy

hahaha, thanks man! Yeah I was super disappointed about it. Brand new S8 too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40