Do You Still Refer to Our Front End as Steemit or Just Steem ?? Why I Prefer the Latter...

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


I think we are the Steem Blockchain hence any mention of the word Steemit is not really relevant anymore. You thoughts on whether we should still refer to our Front End as Steemit or just Steem ??


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

I use the "Steem Community" or steem friends and I just use steem to refer to the crypto.

I hear you Brother Crypt

It's really very ambiguous @robertandrew, and I don't have a straightforward answer.

"Steem," to me, is and always will be a currency and a blockchain.

"Steemit" is one of many front ends that interact with the Steem blockchain. So is SteemLeo, Partiko, Busy, Actifit, SteemPeak, Appics, TalkingPoint and numerous others.

Let's use the analogy of ecommerce.

I would be totally correct in telling someone that I "sell online." It's true but it doesn't tell anyone anything.

A more appropriate and descriptive answer would be that I sell "on eBay," or "on Amazon," or "on my web site."

Now, if you go to the Steem.com web site, you'll find this:

XX-Steem.jpg

"Steemit" is actually being promoted as a thing.

Right now, I am writing this comment to you on the Steemit condenser. Sometimes I write from SteemLeo, sometimes from Creativecoin, and sometimes from SteemPeak. If I were to direct someone to where I blog, I would probably tell them one of those. But I might also tell them Steemit, because ALL my Steem blockchain content is aggregated there.

If I recall correctly, this whole discussion originally arose because many felt we should distance ourselves from "Steemit, INC." (the company). I think that as long as there's a "Steemit" branded front end, people will be "blogging on Steemit." And perhaps the best thing we can do is to call it whatever the dApp we're currently using calls it... for example, the fact that you created your video on DTube, does that even require a mention of "Steem?" Or is simply saying, "I create vlogs on DTube!" enough?

Thanks for bringing this discussion up!

Very legit points you bring up. Interesting enough , pretty soon once the DTCs are sold out and they move out of testnet Dtube will no longer be part of the Steem block chain. It will be a totally separate BC

I try to refer to the whole thing as Steem since that is what the blockchain is. I still slip up sometimes. I really only use Steemit to post comments anymore. Most of my articles are either done through busy or Steempeak. I have really started to enjoy using Steempeak. Occasionally I have trouble accessing it though.

@tipu curate

I prefer steemblockchain😀 sometimes steemit. If I talk about price I say steem. Regards! I like you videos!😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I would vote for the STEEM community option. I always call it just, STEEM. So does everyone else that I know and engage with. Good point you brought up here!

I personally prefer Steemit. Because Steem is the Currency and THIS is not the currency, but a social media site. So Steemit is my favorite for this site. :)

You raise a legit point @therealjulz97

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72