You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Best time to earn your Steem is now

in #dtube5 years ago

Actually, the reason I came to Steemit was because I was looking for an alternative to Reddit. I tried Voat, but there are too few "free speech" alternative communities out there that aren't riddled with a homogenous ideology, mainly that which was banned from the mainstream.

I didn't come to Steemit because I wanted to say nigger, faggot, and kike with impunity, which seems to be the main draw for the majority of the "free speech alternative" sites out there. I came to Steemit because of it's anti-censorship framework, yes, but I'm staying for it's fascinating approach to technology and community.

Another draw for me was the creeping insidiousness of YouTube's policies towards the very creators that made them billions. A key phrase in their most recent policy release was that they could remove your content if they felt you were not "commercially viable". I've never made a dime off of YouTube and never plan to, but I do have a lot of content saved on there and I'd hate for it to all to just one day go 'poof 'because of an arbitrary change in policy.

The main issue I'm having with BitChuteright now is the video resolution. From my perusal of how D.Tube works, supposedly there is no limit to the quality of video that I can upload. I'm sure that taxes the system in some form or another but that's a bit beyond me at the moment. I'm just looking for something that can handle 1080p60fps, as that's the majority of my video content. Is that feasible here on the blockchain? Sorry for the tangential questions. I'm new here.

Anyways, with the mainstream conglomerates tightening the choke-chain on free speech I do feel there needs to be an alternative to Reddit, and not just an alternative that is the opposite of Reddit but an alternative that is like a Reddit but enhanced, and that's the potential I see in Steemit.

One thing I've noticed about D.Tube is that a lot of the videos on there are just links from YouTube. Why is that? Is there some kind of disadvantage with having it saved locally to the blockchain? Are there time limits to how long information is stored on the blockchain? Again, sorry I'm new here, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Anyways, I liked your video, and while I might be here strictly because I was looking for an alternative to Reddit, I don't entirely disagree with your main thesis. Steemit should leverage its unique service offerings to position itself as an enhanced social media site, cause from what I've seen so far, that's precisely what it is. Unfortunately, without the backing of the mega corporations, it's going to be hard to sell it as such.

Thank you for your time and effort in producing the video and any information you may be willing to relinquish in the future.

Sort:  

As I know on Dtube files are stored few years in IPFS. After that you should pay IPFS node to store them for more time. Hope I m not wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46