MAJOR DTube Upload Error

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I stumbled across a @dtube system glitch. Long story short, made a post that was supposed to be the 1st episode of my new podcast, but after posting, I open the window to see the end result and found… a completely random person driving around in his car vlogging.
Dtube Glitch Cartoon.jpg
Dtube got its digital wires crossed and ended up uploading someone else’s video through my post. Included below is a link to the glitch video. (Figured it might as well be useful as Exhibit A).

Not sure if this has been a recurring issue for other DTube users but either way I’ll break down the process of what I did in case it can be used to solve the problem for other users down the line.

What I Did Done Do

  • I uploaded an mp4 video at 720p resolution that was 12 mins and 12 seconds long. (Video was basically this still image with some text movement at the end that had audio playing over it for its duration.)
    Man of Tomorrow Blue Sky pic.jpg
  • I then (and I’m assuming this is the reason for the glitch) had to step away from the computer for several hours before being able to return and complete the description and the snap/thumbnail and all that jazz.
  • I return hours later, fill in the information, and click the “submit” button.

Now is when I went to check what I had uploaded, saw a millisecond of my podcast’s title card appear before the video immediately cut to footage of somebody in a cap and glasses driving around while vlogging. It’s at this point that I stared in total confusion.
DTube issue.jpg
I checked in several times over the next few hours thinking maybe it was some sort of momentary issue, but no such luck. In the end it's worth noting that the vlog video didn't play in its entirety either (the vid fails to play past a certain point). I feel like I took a picture of my newborn baby and opened my camera's image gallery to see someone else's child staring back at me in horror. "O_o. The HELL? YOU'RE NOT MY DADDY."

So there you have it. Don't know if it will be possible to remove that DTube video from my channel at a later time (my understanding is that can't be done) or if it's just gonna have to remain there as an unfortunate first video, but alas, I hope this helps get to the root of the issue for future uploads. Will be re-uploading the podcast premiere & hoping the system doesn't pull a Changeling on me again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60073.81
ETH 2420.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45