Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus (VG, GF, Oil Free): Food Fight Friday

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Here I am, back on another Friday and this time @dandays and I are bringing the heat- at least in our opinion this post will be on fire (is that how the youngens say it? It’s fire? It’s lit? It’s lit on fire?), whatever it is it is going to be hot.

Hola, @foodfightfriday Peeps! I’m so excited to be here this week. Did y’all know you can make videos with your phone? Not only can you record video (I’m sure all of you know that) but you can edit, splice, auto tune, cut, copy, paste, and lay over music to create a perfect little video that showcases your recipe creating and making skills.

It took me about a week to perfect this oil free, apple cider vinegar instead of lemon, hummus recipe. I had to measure it all out with the first attempt, record it, and even though it was a little too acidic (too much vinegar), eat it before I could make another.

After about two days of eating vinegar-y hummus it was time to have another go at it. This time I added the ACV (apple cider vinegar) with caution and to my satisfaction it turned out perfectly. @dandays, a.k.a. Mr. Hubs, also put his stamp of approval on it.

We gobbled up that batch even quicker than the first and got ready for “video time”. V.T. is the very special time that one begins to set up his or her recording studio to capture the creating mode of the recipe. This is usually done in place of writing out the recipe, or done in addition to. V.T. is also known as “Go Time”.

Without the assistance of my handsome, ripped bicep having, tattooed dude then this video would not be possible. He spent days and practiced for hours to figure out how to edit, speed up, split, slow down, write text on, lay music over, and post,self recorded videos. Thank you @dandays for being the producer of this project. Stay tuned for more dope recipe vids.

Without further ado I’ll leave you with my recipe…


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Dtube never impressed me much😢 somehow this old phone keep loading and loading.. but nothing appeared😁.. so I imagined your video through Katie's comments 😊.. sounds interesting.

Awe… that sucks! At some point soon my recipe blog will be up and running then you can watch it from there :). I try to keep my vids no longer than a minute so people don’t get bored. Thanks for stopping by anyway @cicisaja. How’s the fast going? It is a month long fast, right?!?

Your @dandays already made it easier for me to watch the video @puravidaville.. Awesome😉 your hummus remind me to the peanut paste for peanut sauce. One minute to 3 minute is the best time for a video, I think.. that's what I learned from working on radio station, just like listening to the news or song or announcer/anchor😊

Day 14th today and everything's still fine but I think I'll get my period in few days and I can't fast before it ends and I must pay the fast after the Ied or anytime before the next ramadhan, as many as days I lose my fast in this month.

Yay!!! I’m glad you got to view it. I already have so many changes I’d like to make but I suppose I’ll always see wats to improve my work. Haha

If I understand you correctly then you can’t fast while on your period? That might make sense since sometimes for me the chocolate cravings are unusually strong. Haha… it’s probably more difficult to abstain from food while bleeding. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Well.. actually there's another reasons beside health reason😊. I think it's kinda a special treat for all muslim women @puravidaville 😊 when a muslim having a period, we don't do praying, fasting and making love (no penetration) absolutely prohibited/forbiden. While the muslim man, except they are on long journey or sick, they still have to fast and pray... well, there's another story about the conditions to pray and fasting too.

I keep thinking that ground peanuts or cattapa/indian almond could subtitute the chickpeas

I love getting all of this information about your practices and customs @cicisaja- thank you for sharing!

That substitute might work but I’m not sure how it would change the consistency… try it and let me know. I know you could probably sub black beans or lentils for chickpeas and maintain a similar consistency.

For me, better upload from phone than from pc. I always upload from phone browser.

But yeah, you can't hope too much about the curation 😁💪💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn’t get my second bird video to load on d.tube last night, it forced me to upload to YouTube this morning, something I’ve been meaning to do anyway. 👍🏿 Now we don’t have to leave the sweetest chef in Indonesia hangin’. For you, Cici:

Thaaaannkk yoooouuuu @dandays😍😍😍😍 luv the video 😉 and what is aquafaba? It taste hot and sour I guess😊 okay.. not sour.. but fresh😉.. so, this hummus you eat with things like chips, pita or bread?

No chickpeas around my neighbourhood ..but I know where to find it if I want to try this hummus..hmmm.. hhmm.. yummy.

Of course, I’m glad it worked. No, aquafaba isn’t hot or sour, it’s the liquid that gets left in the pot after you boil your chickpeas. ‘Chickpea water’ wasn’t cool enough I guess, someone changed it to aquafaba. 🤔

I’m surprised how many people haven’t tried hummus, give it a shot when you have an opportunity. Yes, chips and pita bread are good, anything for dipping but as a spread is real good too. The inside of a pita, vegetable sandwich or wrap, stuff like that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy puravidaville! I thought that was a great little video! And that was all done on your phone, amazing. I didn't know what humus had in it, or is this an unusual recipe? This one's super healthy!
I didn't see sir danday's grubby paws in it though, maybe in the next one. lol.

This one is healthier in that I omitted the olive oil. So this version is quite low cal too 😉. Oh trust me, his mitts were all up in this hummus. Haha.

I didn’t actually film it from my phone, I used our camera. All of the editing was done on our iPad though, which is exactly like our phones… 🤷🏼‍♀️ Haha

howdy puravidaville! oh ok I get it. What's so bad about Olive oil? I thought it was good for you.

Nothing at all I just wanted to make a recipe without it because it is much more expensive down here :)

oh ok, that makes perfect sense. lol..well I thought maybe there was something they found was bad about it! That's good. I mean it's bad that it's so expensive there, most prices are very reasonable aren't they?

It’s unbelievable how expensive food is here @janton. I mean, we eat a lot of veggies and you can get a good portion at veggie stands but not all of them are the best quality when you go so inevitably you need to get the remainder at the store… a thing of strawberries is about 6 bucks and don’t even get me started on blueberries. A pineapple is under 2 dollars so we eat a lot of that. It’s really difficult to find greens like kale, different kinds of spinach, different kinds of lettuce, arugula, etc so we make do with what I can find. Our food bill is about the same here as it is back home. Crazy!!

oh wow! I had no idea puravidaville! I thought everything was much cheaper there but the food sure isn't. That's too bad about the limited selection too. Well, that's not your final stopping place, it's just temporary right?

The level of cinematography is just mind-blowing. The person in charge of this production should get in touch immediately with people from the hills.

Just to be clear. not this hills

But this one

Bring the hummus of course as an icebreaker...

Wait until you see the next one Ed. It’s already going to be completely different.

Yeah, he seems to learn pretty fast whatever you throw at him. Great job on the hummus, dear!

Love this! Looks amazing

I seriously can eat hummus for every meal. Haha.… thanks for checking it out @faeryboots :)

oh that's Hummus, I like this food especially with lemon

I like it with lemon too but lemons are difficult to get in Costa Rica. I had to compromise with the ACV and lime. It still turned out fantastic though. I could seriously live off of hummus :)

I like hummus with grills like kebab

Oh yum, me too!!

Looks yummy. But for me, I will add more chili 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, I love spicy. @dandays on the other hand doesn’t like spicy that much so I have to limit my jalapeno 🤦🏼‍♀️ Thanks for stopping by @anggreklestari!

Great job on the Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus, and the video. Hubby with the ripped abs, wrong, ripped bicep, is getting the hang of video production.
After you stated that you could edit, speed up, split, slow down, write text on, lay music over, and post self recorded videos from the phone, I got all excited.
Went and grabbed my phone to see what I could do.
IMG_3567.JPG
Shoot, I forgot, we have no cell phone service here in the mountains. I guess I will have to wait until I take a trip to town and get service, then I will give it a try @puravidaville.

Haha… I miss those phones though. You can’t snap and hang up hard like you used to. Haha… thanks for watching @thebigsweed :)

B013524C-710E-4056-BD1D-533C070D8205.jpeg

Great video, I see a lot of those food/recipe vids on FB but yours was top notch. Sorry to say, I don't like hummus, can't eat chick peas at all, but my grand=kids love it. Keep it going on girl !

Oh my God, it’s an abomination… just kidding just means more for me. Thanks for checking it out. We are filming another recipe today and already are going to change just about everything for next time. Haha… we’ll get this recording thing :)

Oh I got to try this! I don't have any jalapenos on hand, and it would be wise to not put any in for the kids to eat. So my question is, is the apple cider there to work with the jalapenos? Or is it for it's own thing?

The Apple cider vinegar is to add more acidity to the hummus. We don’t have access to yellow lemons here so I used ACV and a little lime instead :). You can totally omit the jalapeno and the cilantro and add whatever flavor combo you want. You can add avocado and onion, or eggplant, even tomato and basil, really whatever you want. Have fun with it :).

Thanks for stopping by @foxyspirit 😉

Cool! Never omitting the cilantro! I love that stuff. That and basil :p

I will definitely mix it up some, now that I have the base recipe ;) Thanks to you! Awesome stuff!

Keep me posted as to how it turns out 😋

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Good stuff ^_^ foxyspirit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65