Why I'm Starting My Channel On DTube (Hint: It's Not About The $$)

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Hi Steemit and DTube! I wanted to film a quick introduction and say hi, and while I'm at it talk a little (or a lot) about why I'm starting my channel here on DTube instead of on YouTube. I actually filmed this before YouTube released their new monetization policy, so while obviously that adds a lot of fuel to the fire, my reasons don't have to do with the payout.

Namely, my three reasons for opting for DTube as a platform are:

  1. Reach
  2. Privacy
  3. Practice

I think Steemit and DTube are both uniquely positioned to change the lives of content creators. Again, this isn't because of the money -- I will always be the strongest advocate of the idea that true value lies in the audience. Do you know how long it takes to build a real audience on YouTube, Instagram and Twitter these days?!

Please let me know your thoughts and if you think this is a sound idea. I always like to know when I'm goofing up! I hope you'll subscribe if you're interested in more videos from me...I promise I'll get better at it :)

Signature.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think you're on the right track with DTube 😎

Thank you :) I'm so excited!

Dtube’s the better bet, if you ask me, just because these other platforms are pretty saturated to me at the moment.. Better to be on the forefront of something new.

SCORE! We have gotten ourselves another beautiful Dtuber and she's moving to Brooklyn!! :D

(Your vid isn't loading right now, but I'll definitely be sure to watch it when it does.)

It's meee! Thank you @paolajane for the support :)

Good video. You're way better at talking to air than a lot of us already. haha. I was an early adopter of Myspace, Facebook, and Youtube. Steemit and the blockchain feels nice. It was sad seeing organic reach die on each platform, but I'm happy we together here as pioneers. It gives us time to improve our craft more so on the road to success. Steem is the Future and the Future is Now.

Thank you @nwjordan! Your videos are great so that means a lot. I'm glad we're here early too, though h it definitely feels sometimes like I was the last to know! :) I definitely look forward to improving and getting to know everyone here as a true community.

Thanks. Same here!

You who? lol Dtube is where it at :) Great 1st vid!!

Nice work, Lexi :) You're very articulate, and the quality is very good. Great first video. I think you're right about "the people who get it." YouTube feels way more intimidating these days, whereas DTube is much more chill.

Thanks @joshpeterson I appreciate it! That's exactly what I mean about YT being intimidating. It just straight up makes me anxious :/ lol

Go for it .. You will do fine for sure .

I liked the filter / vignette effect! It's neat that you are expressing your own personality, don't stop!

Hey, by the way, I was able to post my video! The process seemed a little rough, but I think I know how to do it now.

I'm in it for the M O N A Y Y Y 💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰💰
![] ()

Only kidding :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97