You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture Test Plot Part 4 - Amazing Comfrey!

in #dtube7 years ago

So, I have a single comfrey plant that I purchaced at the Baker Creek Spring Planting Festival a couple years ago. Did you buy all those plants, start them from seed? And do you know how to propagate them? I’ve thought of maybe splitting it? I’d just really like to have more than one plant!

I didn’t know that it could compete with weeds so well. That’s good to know. :)

Sort:  

Comfrey is very easy and fun to start from root cuttings. But it also spreads pretty well on its own, depending on what kind you have...I will be doing a blog post about it soon.

Excellent! I’m following you, so I’ll be keeping an eye out for it. :)

Those comfrey plants all started from one plant. You can do root cuttings like @schoonercreek mentioned. I usually just trim off the tops and cut the root ball in 1/2's or 1/4's with a spade when I want more somewhere else.

Well, I think I can do that. Sounds like what we do with our hastas in the fall. Is it okay to split comfrey in the spring?

Spring should be fine. If you do it early while the plant is still dormant all the better.

To be honest I don't really time when I split them, they are a pretty hardy plant. I would just make sure they get enough water till they recover.

Thanks for your time and your advice. Have an excellent new year, @canadianrenegade!

No Problem, Happy New Year to you as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62797.54
ETH 2442.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68