I Am Not That - Petra Jordan (SMLchallenge)

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


This is my first entry to the SMLchallenge :) So your attention and upvotes are highly appreciated!

Song background:

When I first learned about the (buddhist) concept of detachment, I just couldn't figure out HOW do you detach yourself from an idea/feeling? I was actually at my first day-long yoga workshop and that's where this topic came up. The teacher said "You identify a feeling/thought and say "I am not that"."

That moment lead to a path of gradual liberation from all kinds of self-defeating, self-deprecating, self-hating thoughts I had in the past. That moment set me on a life long journey of yoga, meditation and self-inquiry which brings grounding and balance to my life in this fast paced world we live in.

So here goes:

I AM NOT THAT

I close my eyes and I see freedom right inside me
I closed the gates to keep old demons out of bay
Though at times I have gone back to where it haunts me
I really wanna say that now I found the path

I don’t want to race,
Don’t wanna waste time anymore

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

I close my eyes
And I can hear my heart pounding
Feel the breath that’s moving up and down my spine
I listen to the sound of breathing that revives me
I see the world with a different pair of my own eyes

I don’t want to race,
Don’t wanna waste time anymore

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

Cool is the air that I breathe
But I still feel the heat of fire
I recognize the power of elements
A man you can fool
But nature is no liar
You can go and fool yourself
But life’s got its ways

I am not that
Say to the sadness inside
I am not that
Still got a sparkle in my eye
I am not that
Say to the anger that fries
I am not that
I won’t be consumed by its fires
When I step back
I see myself from the outside
I am not that
I’m not the pain that left scars
I am not that
I am not that
I am not that

Music & Lyrics - Petra Jordan (c) 2017


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

Smooth song, very soothing, Interesting groove.
I had trouble getting the signature... the hook is in 7/8 right? and then you change for the verse?
Nice set-up by the way :-)

Thanks, @muphy!

Yes, the signature is irregular and goes like this:
2 bars of 3/4
1 bar of 2/4
4 bars of 3/4

and then 4/4 in the pre- and chorus.

rinse and repeat :)

Beautiful voice and set up! :)

Thank you, Elizabeth! Also for the @msp-music upvote! Wanna find out more about MSP and music, how to get more engaged in this community, how to submit my tracks to MSPWaves etc... so much to do an learn here!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @kubbyelizabeth from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Nice atmosphere :)

welcome to the contest of your life! its fun!! good tune!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62214.82
ETH 2429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68