Petra Jordan - A Slice (live studio version) ...or what whales and dolphins hear but humans don't

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


You’ve probably heard that dolphins, whales (and dogs but since we’re on Steemit let’s focus on sea mamals) have a much wider hearing range than humans.

Humans: 0.015–20 kHz
Dolphins: 40 - 160 kHz
Whales: 60 - 120 kHz

Likewise, the visible spectrum of human beings is around 400-700 nm. While many animals see UV or infrared, which we wouldn’t even know exists had it not been for scientific discoveries or UV light damage thanks to which we get to wear cool sunglasses. Apparently butterflies have the widest visual range... and don't wear sunglasses.

I’m not a biologist, I’ve just done some research online… and who knows whether all this data is correct! Regardless, this song is inspired by our limited perception of what’s going on around us. There’s so much more out there than we can ever be aware of! I always get amused when I hear people fighting over what’s true :) Ha!

So pause, listen to where this song of mine will take you and think about all of the above…

Wonder if any of the whales or dolphins will hear my cry :)


A SLICE

I’ve lived a million lives before
I think I’ll come back for some more
perfect human being

In this body, in this place
in the 3d world of time and space
learning about being

I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
But every step I take
I walk the best I can
I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
I only hear the song that plays on in my head
I only hear the song that plays on in my head

Years ago and miles away
I saw you in a different way
A perfect human being
The only thing that hasn’t changed
Is the witness looking through the lens
Of this imperfect human being

I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
But every step I take
I walk the best I can
I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
I only hear the song that plays on in my head
I only hear the song that plays on in my head

Oh and my mind
Can be so blind
Wandering ‘round in the same old maze
When the veil gets lifted
For a moment in time
In a ray of light
I feel the warmth
I feel the love

In a ray of light
I feel the warmth
Though I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
But every step I take
I walk the best I can
I only hear a slice of what’s to hear
I only see a slice of what’s to see
I only hear the song that plays on in my head
I only hear the song that plays on in my head


Music & Lyrics: Petra Jordan
Drums: the programmable dude in Logic ProX
Bass: Petra Jordan's left hand
Keys & Vocals: Petra Jordan's right and left hand, and vocal chords

(c) 2017 Petra Jordan

Official Website: petrajordanmusic.com
Facebook: facebook.com/PetraJordanMusic
Twitter: twitter.com/petrajordan1
Instagram: instagram.com/petrajordan
Youtube: youtube.com/petrajordanmusic
Steemit: steemit.com/@petrajordan

Donations are welcome even after the 7-day Steemit payable period:

Steemit: @petrajordan
♥ ETH: 0xE163c09C571d70C123f7eEc36D203603cfa8B639
♥ BTC: 32rannwLJfJ55kTbBV1Qgtcgc9ejCQPudZ
♥ LTC: LRnpeoDTPr1TjaWFeCihUi3szDsugnDJ8c
♥ Dash: XhKCgxZNmFc3oZXfzRSkwCwgWMByHHQfKF
♥ ETC: 0x4efe9e0b51b2ece9f57f67e00808f7037f14597b
♥ ZEC: t1P7KwNnPXC8pvPyRjKZSGNkNq3mDRwKBMd
♥ Paypal: paypal.me/petrajordanmusic


▶️ DTube
Sort:  

How could I not Resteem this? Beautiful song, amazing lyrics, wish I'd written it! Really nice work, congrats! :-)

Oh thank you, @rhondahuete! So pleased you like it and grateful for the resteem ;) xxx

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! For more information, click here

Thank you, @sandbox-alpha! I really appreciate it!

I just read the info at your link. I suppose you attached it to encourage me to submit new posts to you? If I understand correctly, this post has already been upvoted by you and is no longer eligible? Might sound logical but I got a bit confused why you linked the info if my post was already upvoted. Or was it just to let me know about your curation trail? I know, noob questions :)

Thx again!

Very smooth Petra!

Thanks, Juxta :)

tres bien continues

Nice chilled tune, enjoyed the well-produced vocal.

Thank you, Steve! It’s always nice to hear that people enjoy listening to my music. Off to check out your profile again ;)

Thank you, Steve! It’s always nice to hear that people enjoy listening to my music. Off to check out your profile again ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47