You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are STEEM users too Inward looking? Look outside and double your traffic.

in #dtube6 years ago

Interesting how different methods work for different content types. Can I have a link to your blog?

with steempress, there is an option to only post limited characters to steem, linking back to the original post. this gives a very strong backlink. Am I wrong with this understanding?

A lot of my traffic is from my email list and social shares, however Youtube and Google provide good results for me too. many people forget youtube is also in-effect a search engine. I just wish I hadn't neglected my own blog for so long....

I need to home in on my seo skills, I might hit you up for some advice

Sort:  

I've taught for 16 years, set up the blog in 2014... https://revisesociology.com/

It's basically the entire A-level sociology syllabus. I quit work on the back of the earnings last year, problem is it's now taken a dip, so I'm going to need to do some online tuition... 1 Webinar a week with 20 students should earn me enough.

I'm planning to get the subscriptions going through Patreon. This is all very new.

As to the steem back linking thing I really don't know... my intuition is that google wouldn't trust any website where a marginal site is consistently linking to it. It's got 'Google rank penalty' written all over it in my mind. No one working outside of Google actually knows for sure anyway. I've had the most useless chats with the support team from WP.com about SEO, they know even less than I do.

I think the most important thing for SEO is a clear hierachical structure - one or two pages with real depth for the key words you're writing about and then lots of smaller posts around those key word topics linking back to your main post so it tells Google 'this is the landing page, rank this'.

I'm trying to refine my structure, it's a monumental task! I'm not an SEO expert BTW!

great plan, I see a few others are also trying out patreon too. So did you make most of your earning from google organic then? that's well impressive if you did. I remember when I gave up work on the back of earning from online courses and the same thing happened to me, a drop the following year. So I had to learn marketing and learn it fast.

Would you consider putting a 'free' short course on the likes of Udemy with the upsell to premium on your own site?

Im also wondering what platform you use for your webinars? I use zenler, but when we had dlive, I did try a webinar on that, just as an experiment. Didnt work out all that well in the end because the comments were off chain so I couldn't reward them.

Im hoping with my site, i can use steem as added value over other blogs on the same topic. In not using steem to monetize my site, but incentivize users. I took a dip too over the last 12 months, but I can put it down to focusing on steem instead. Hopefully now I can recover from the dip if I put my efforts back into what I was doing before.

It's been a lot of work putting it all together... I think I rank well because A level sociology has some quite niche search terms and >40K students.

Also because everythings connnected it's quite easy to structure it/ link it together genuinly without gaming it for SEO.

But nothing lasts forever and there's competition.

As to a platform I was gonna use Adobe Connect but I think I've now found a cheaper option (can't remeber the name off the top of my head)...I used WizIQ a couple of years back which was OK!

I do want to do a free Udemy course for marketing - I've just got a few more things that have to come first!

I know very little about marketing TBH!

you can host live webinars for free on https://www.learnitlive.com/.

As wells as having to learn the marketing ropes, I also did a lot of research into platforms, instructional design and elearning. I was in a very good community on google+ for online educators, but with google+ going they are now looking for new options.

lol when one works online, there are always a few more things to do.

I'll check out 'learn it live'... cheers

There is a lot to research where e-learning is concerned.

I'm convinced it has to be part of the future for schools and colleges too - contracting out more and more learning to private parties like us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52