Hay Steem Devs we need this on STEEM - A Case for Traffic Analytics

in #dtube5 years ago


Hay everyone and welcome to my Dtube video. Today my video is a shout out for a feature we need on steem, and feature we need to grow an to flourish and I hope that some steem devs or people in the know are watching and maybe can do something.

Today’s world is a data driven world. Companies and organisations from around the world use data to drive their businesses forward and make faster more effective decisions. Those working in the online world have not excepted this and it’s become a curtail part of doing business online.

Running a blog or a store or any other type of online business have a massive need to know about their data. Where does the traffic come from, what blogs preform the best, what content types are viewed most, what’s the click through rate from each source, where do my sales and money come from. With out data insights, growing an online business like this is like losing you sight and sense of touch in a maze

Yet here on steem there is now way to get basic stats on traffic. Not knowing if something is working or not does not make a very investable business. Why would influencers that could bring thousands of users to steem invest time, and maybe even money at a shot in the dark? That’s like a 100% risk.

So Im not a techie and I cant code and knowing what is even possible is sometimes way beyond my reach, but if we want to attract influencers, if we want the user base to grow and business to flourish we need stats, we need data, we need to know if we are getting traffic or not, what is working and what is not, we need to know the basics that any business needs to know. Without that, moving steem forward to mainstream adoption is going to be difficult.

When I publish a new course on udemy, I can add a google analytics code to that course and track what needs to be tracked. When I push out a mail chimp campaign, I can also add a tracking code. These are third party platforms, just as steem is a third part platform to the end user. If third party sites like these can partition their data for end user analytics then I am sure steem can to.

I understand we have many different interfaces to the block, we have steemit.com, busy.org, partiko and so forth. And having so many interfaces Im sure just adds more difficult to gaining overall insights. All of these User interfaces are getting their own traffic, to what could be the same content. But at the end of the day what they all share is the blockchain and wallet addresses. The all reach to the same place for the information, maybe different nodes but the same blockchain.

So Im wondering under the settings, which updates the account json_metadata could a field be added for a google analytics code. Would this work, would this then allow all posts from the account to be indexed and tracked. Like I said knowing what is even possible can be beyond me.

Maybe we need to build our own app that works like google analytics but for steem based analytics. As a business model I could see an opportunity to have a freemium model and a pro subscription base model. These types of services are in need

So I’m calling out to all of the developers, all of the app owners, steemit inc, to consider making changes so we don’t stunt our growth due to lack of basics analytics. Give us the information we need to help attract new people to steem. There is no point in me telling people oh I get 220 votes and make $10 a post. We need more than that, way more.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

stats.png

The way engrave went about it made it super easy. I just had to work out where to find the code to post into the boxes and wait for things to verify! There site took care of the part of where it should go and html bits.

A couple days ago I posted about the Steam Lunar sale going on for gamers to buy games on that platform. Despite how new and the fact that there duplicate content from the engrave platform posting and my Steem blog posting I can see I got a couple of impression of search results and what people were searching. Sale ends today so I expect what little traffic that was finding its way to my site will stop.

I can only assume my Steem posting of it did much better.

I also like the fact that I can now request for a crawler to index a new page when I create it on that site.

notfound.png

My steem version of my most recent posts are not yet on google. Even the stuff I’m not posting on the other site. With how much focus this platform is on the 7 day cycle you think that would be some kind of priority. Some of my stuff 5 days old is only now have been indexed. That more or less old news on a site like Steem by the time I have chance at getting traffic off a search engine.

One of the more positive psychological effects of my time spent on a site like twitter is seeing I’m driving traffic to my site. While sure I can see some of that information on twitter end . Just knowing I’m doing something and I’m at least creating opportunity for my content to get some kind of view and maybe a user that will come back or a follow on twitter from it has been nice.

My entire blog is a walking billboard for brining traffic to the site and new users. Yet most will never go back and maintain older posts, want to learn how to grow their non-steem traffic, and things like SEO. Since there’s very little motivation for doing so.

One thing I’m consider months from now when I build more of a following on social sites is resharing links to my older content that did the best. When you already put in all that work and that content did well you have an idea it should do decent again at getting new people to come back.

They say you sould spend 20 % of your time creating content and the other 80% networking and promoting your content. The more time you spend on twitter the greater the return on visitors you should see.

On your engrave stats can you see if people viewed your post on partiko or busy? Engrave have a wordpress feel for stats by the sound of it, which is good once you add your tracking code.

Resharing existing content, or as i call it, content recycling is a must. As long as the content is still relavent. Yes you should do this

Posted using Partiko Android

On your engrave stats can you see if people viewed your post

All data I’m getting is from google analytics and webmaster sites. None of that is available on the engrave portal itself. Just places to put in the ID’s and tracking numbers.

So that is only for the exact URL on my posts over there. Not the steem version of them on steemit or busy.

I have no idea if you can log in using partiko. I just know people can log in and comment using a steem account.

I have seen referrals from:
engrave.website
app.steemconnect.com
steemit.com

Running a blog or a store or any other type of online business have a massive need to know about their data. Where does the traffic come from, what blogs preform the best, what content types are viewed most, what’s the click through rate from each source.

Hi @paulag, just stopping by on my PassionSeven77 curation plan to upvote and check out your amazing post.

You are so right in what you're saying here Paula. I remember mentioning this in one of the PAL shows once, that without a view counter, it can be very difficult to know how effective your blog actually is. I feel like with the dust votes most people get (usually autovotes) some type of way to measure metrics on views is essential. Anyway, I'm not very technically minded to be honest but even I know this is essential data for any blogger.

Thats me and you both that dont know the technical side, but someone must, this is a no brainer in terms of a need over a want

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup, and it would go a long way to draw more content creators in as well. And also, for people on steem to gather stats on how many people are actually visiting from outside the steem blockchain community. It strikes me that this is something that Steemit.inc and all the different front ends should/would need to know!

no brainer

Is exactly the right term lol

Most of them do know and are running a script for google, but the dat is not public or aligmated

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I have mentioned this a couple of times. However, someone mentioned that bots were used to increase view counts and things like that. But personally, I would like to see a view count. My 2 cents, this might review some things about our platform I think many are not ready for.

Id like to see way more than a view count, like where the traffic comes from for example.

Posted using Partiko Android

This would be lovely :)

I'm not sure how google analytics works, and if just one value in the JSON would be enough, but if so then this sounds like a fine idea.

So its not the same json that steemmonsters use, its the one that contains profile info. Each UI links posts to profiles in the url. If a tracking code could be added that would be cool. I wonder if i could try bung in a tracking code to say my location field and see if anything gets tracked......oh let me go try lol 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Did it work?

Does the tracking code contain information of all visits? or just latest?

Will need 24 hours to get tracking to kick in

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be interesting if it was that simple. mine in a var analystic_identifier JavaScript field. It's looking for the data to be in the header before it gets to the body where everything else is.

the script in the header contains the actual tracking code. would it be right to think if this code was set to a paramater defined by a tracking code on the user account page and therefore be dynamic to each user???

Loading...

This would be a great tool, indeed. I think that should be perfectly possible... and if it comes to reality, I don't believe it will be SteemIt Inc to develop it. They haven't delivered much, in the entire year I've been around.

I dont really mind who does it, lets see if we can get it to happen

Hi @paulag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 7.052 which ranks you at #88 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5750 replies. Your next target is to reach 6000 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You are right, we need that very much. We have to know everything about the traffic we bring to the blockchain. If we don't have an affiliate program here, at least we will know who joined thanks to us. We can help more people that way and guide them and we will also work better if we will know all the analytics. Just like youtube now are doing, they created a special application called youtube studio, you can install it on any device and track all the activity on your youtube channel. Steem need such tool for sure.

We do have affiliates on a lot of the apps, steemmonsters, partiko, actifit, share2steem, steem-ninja all have them

Posted using Partiko Android

is there an app that pay that in steem, or they all just give tokens or points ?

Steemmonsters i think pays steem on cards purchased. Partiko give points that can be used to get votes. Not sure about the rest

Posted using Partiko Android

It will be good if they will pay in steem directly, so maybe some people will bring a lot through affiliate program. So, more people will buy steem and more people will be active. I will try to find out about that. Thanks.

The important is not the collection data, the most important is to take advantage of this data and know what to change and develop in order to be better...
we have to develop an easy interface to analyze the data when we have an integrated and easy to use base we will become much better and will attract many investors...

each buisness, blogger and user of steem will have their own kpis. without the data, we cant take advantage and know what to change, that is very much a point I have to re-iterate. the first step is for someone to find a way of collecting the data

What we need to do. is this. We need to set up a community where we reward each other in STeem as well, for communication and bringing people to the community.

Some apps like partiko and actifit already have a referals system

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82