"Carnival Lights Down" (from openmic week 83) - Also, hi. Want some bunny rabbit coffee? I have some.

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Howdy. Time warp to May 4, 2018. This is a seriously bad open mic entry. I didn't even finish it. I screwed up near the end and just stopped. For reals. Nobody does that. Probably no one has ever done that in the history of the openmic contest. In my defense, I was in a hurry. But I made a dumb mistake, and then said:

"And I just messed up so that's all I got" ..

And then just stopped recording. What a doofus.

I didn't even get to my favorite part of the song which is me "howling at the moon" .. Aww, well. Such is life. Here's the song.

...

...

Carnival Lights Down

I've never been this dark before
stark-raving crazy,
face-up on the floor

Angry am I for losing my place
3 feet down with a smile on my face

Your head's in a cloud
my feet are in mud

Carnival lights define
where next you will run

And though I'm a mess,
I shall clearly confess
I wait for you to run
to my house of fun.

Give me a dance,
you rodeo clown
Ride up and save me
before I sink down

I dreamed about you
and a big red balloon

We rode to the sea
and you hummed me a tune
then we howled at the moon.

Sometimes it feels like this a test
Are we gonna pass
God, I've done my best.

The face on the wall,
she sings me a song.
La dee dah dee dah,
the time has almost come.

Give me a dance,
you rodeo clown.
Ride up and save me
before I sink down.

I dreamed about you
and a big red balloon

Let's ride to the sea
and I'll hum you a tune

Then we'll howl at the moon.

© 2018 paintingangels/serena matthews
....

I think, to redeem myself a little TINY bit, I will include the actual version I recorded in my home studio.. which still has much dead air and flaws.. but whatevs. I like my end-song howling. I'm not a very bad howler. (when you are pretty good howler, you gotta own it. Yes?) Although, I chose to fade out the song during the howling part and you really can't hear how nice it is. Typical.


Alright.. well. I hope you're all having a good day. Or night. I am in a terrible mood and kind of avoiding "real" talk. I've been sending people "bunny coffee" over in discord this morning. Because that's my only wise advice of the day..

HAVE SOME BUNNY COFFEEEE

Love you all, thanks for hanging around.

♥- Serena


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube

Sort:  

Amazing...what else could I say? Your voice is AMAZING!
~RESPECT~

Bunnies, Bunny coffee, music from Serena. I take 'em all! <3

awwww! You can have ALL THE BUNNIES!

Man, that's a lot of bunnies!
Tasty bunnies...BWAHAHAHA

Nooooooooooo! hahah.. Hi Amber!

I really liked the song and you voice is very beautiful:) Crystal clear and you sound very confident. The lyrics are surreal and full of emotion, i think that if it had more intruments playing it would be a really cool hit:)

Thank you , George! I'd love to have a full band behind me sometimes.. but I am difficult to work with.. like super picky and stuff... ha ha. So I work alone. Thank you for the lovely words, I am happy you liked it : ) ♥♥♥♥

I'd work with you! You could holler at me until I get it just the way you want, and I won't even mind. :-)

You are more than welcome Serena:) I listened to other songs at your channel and liked them also. Kind of dissapointed not to see any Lana del Rey cover, i think you should try some of her songs. I mean if you like her:)

Anyway, you got a fan:)

The song is lovely but I clicked for the bunny coffee... I'm so HAPPY IT WAS NOT CLICKBAIT... AWWW
pd the song is lovely I remembered it well, I think I've dueted virtually with almost all your songs, I had a second voice for this one, I may make a "CANDID" story of it :)

Ha ha! Are you aware that you’re the only thing that keeps me coming back to Instagram? 😀

Is that because I spam your inbox with fawns, rats and otters? LOL

That soundcloud recording is just gorgeous! The basic simplicity is part of it's charm. I'm not sure if I've heard this song before...

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85