Dtube Sucks

in #dtube6 years ago

Not my post, but seems important enough to show here:

Personal summary after uploading 600+ videos on D.Tube
My first impression was as advertised an alternative to Youtube. I was fascinated and wanted to know more. I have a Youtube channel with 100+ million views and 100k+ subscribers and around 2000 videos. After learning that videos will stop playing after ~7 days if you do not have your own node running I started my own node and uploaded like crazy. Up to today it was not possible for me to play a video from the beginning to the end. The loading stopped without a reason at any point of the video.

All my videos can not be seen inside my profile. From day to day more and more videos disappear from my profile for no reason. Though I am hosting the videos on my own, they are not there any longer. Maybe if you got the link the video will work, but you will not find it on D.Tube.

The search function is still far from working and it shows only 10 results. Searching for my own video titles gives zero results so something seems to be totally wrong there. So all of my videos which are no longer shown inside my profile can not even be found by the search function. I end up hosting videos that no one will ever see or find.

The killer came at the end for me. To be honest this is no alternative to Youtube. The main reason is that videos stop being monetized after 7 days. When the seventh day has passed, you will never ever get a penny off your videos. From that moment on you will host your own videos without any benefit.

I would have spared a lot of time if I had known these things before which is the intention of this post from me now. I hope that some, who have a wrong imagination about how this is working, will not spend their time for nothing in the end. I am not saying the whole thing is bad. But for my way this is the wrong base.

I am also shocked that though your videos are free from being censored, D.Tube is not. So it can happen that your video will no longer be on D.Tube but on the blockchain. I see no benefit of my video still being there when no one will find it but nevertheless that is the fact.

https://www.reddit.com/r/dtube/comments/8cgc5v/personal_summary_after_uploading_600_videos_on/

You don't earn a thing after 7 days and videos get deleted ... what kind of BS is this

Sort:  

That is the disadvantage of dtube, after 7 days you can't earn on them no more :(

it doesn't even play any more...

As a matter of fact that is indeed a disadvantage and there are many things that needs to be done while uploading a video and a lot of effort as well.But hope the issue gets fixed or some kind of solution comes up.

Sometimes I think a Steemit 2.0 is needed

Well it would be a nice idea I suppose.

@pagandance,,it is not fair,,,Patient is so necessary thing,,,Something is better than noting,,,Lol,,
Test upvote is available too..

great dtube post. thanks for @pagandance

the revenue model should change for sure if they are seriously fighting against youtube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50